Vellacott starts crucial Munster match

Vellacott starts crucial Munster match

Edinburgh Rugby scrum-half and co-captain Ben Vellacott starts as the only change for tomorrow night’s crucial BKT United Rugby Championship clash with Munster at Hive Stadium (17 May, kick-off 7.35pm) – live on Premier Sports.

Vellacott – who came off the bench to score in last weekend’s victory over Zebre Parma – gets the nod at nine with Ali Price named among the replacements.

It will an emotional occasion for club servants Viliame Mata and WP Nel as they run out for what could be their last game at the ground – both players will be aiming to help Edinburgh Rugby secure a play-off berth before they depart this summer.

Ahead of the match, Head Coach Sean Everitt said: “It will be an electric atmosphere on Friday night with a full house at Hive Stadium. This is a massive game for us and the energy our fans create from teams-out will be crucial in driving us forward from the first whistle.

“The squad have put in a huge shift this season and this match is a chance to solidify everything we’ve worked for. It will also be a special occasion for guys like Bill [Mata] and WP [Nel] who have been tremendous servants to the club for a long time. I know our squad will be going all out to ensure it’s a positive night.

“Munster are a formidable opponent and we’re under no illusions about the challenge we face going up against the reigning BKT URC Champions. However, we have belief and our squad will be fired up playing at home in front of a packed out capital crowd.”

An unchanged back-three sees newly re-signed Wes Goosen continue at full-back alongside wingers Duhan van der Merwe and Matt Currie – Goosen and Currie both nominated for Scottish Building Society Player of the Year earlier this week.

Centres James Lang and Mark Bennett link-up in the capital midfield as Vellacott partners stand-off Ben Healy at half-back.

Hooker Ewan Ashman – twice a try-scorer and named Player of the Match against Zebre Parma – packs down alongside props Pierre Schoeman and Nel up front.

Experienced locks Sam Skinner and co-captain Grant Gilchrist continue in the second-row.

Fijian number 8 Mata once again anchors a back-row featuring Scotland flankers Jamie Ritchie and Hamish Watson.

Edinburgh Rugby team to face Munster at Hive Stadium in the BKT United Rugby Championship
Friday 17 May (kick-off 7.35pm) – live on Premier Sports

15. Wes Goosen (30)

14. Matt Currie (37)
13. Mark Bennett (106)
12. James Lang (55)
11. Duhan van der Merwe (90)

10. Ben Healy (21)
9. Ben Vellacott (59) CO-CAPTAIN

1. Pierre Schoeman (113)
2. Ewan Ashman (18)
3. WP Nel (205)
4. Sam Skinner (23)
5. Grant Gilchrist (203) CO-CAPTAIN
6. Jamie Ritchie (112)
7. Hamish Watson (157)
8. Viliame Mata (136)


16. Dave Cherry (91)
17. Boan Venter (64)
18. Javan Sebastian (15)
19. Marshall Sykes (60)
20. Luke Crosbie (98)
21. Ali Price (15)
22. Cammy Scott (10)
23. Chris Dean (151)

Unavailable: Emiliano Boffelli (back), Connor Boyle (back), Tom Dodd (bicep), Darcy Graham (groin), Jake Henry (hamstring), Robin Hislop (knee), Harry Paterson (quad), D’Arcy Rae (ankle), Scott Steele (hip), Nathan Sweeney (groin), Glen Young (ankle).

Latest News