World Rugby Unveil The 2022 Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year

World Rugby Unveil The 2022 Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year

World Rugby revealed the 2022 Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year at the World Rugby Awards in Monaco on Sunday.

Men's World Rugby Player of the Year Josh van der Flier headlines the team with fellow Irish internationals Tadhg Furlong, Tadhg Beirne and Johnny Sexton also featuring to make Ireland the most represented nation.

England's Ellis Genge and South Africa's Malcolm Marx make up the front row alongside Tadhg Furlong.

Beirne joins All Blacks' veteran Sam Whitelock in the second row with Eben Etzebeth surprisingly snubbed.

Pablo Matera takes the blindside flanker role with van der Flier on the openside and Gregory Allrditt at no.8 - Ardie Savea being the surprise omission. 

2021 World Rugby Player of the Year Antoine Dupont is picked at scrumhalf with fellow former World Rugby Player of the Year Jonathan Sexton at outflhalf - both players were nominated for the 2022 Player of the Year Award.

The South African centre pairing of Damian de Allende and Lukhanyo Am feature in the midfield with Australia's Marika Koroibete and New Zealand's Will Jordan on the wings.

England star Freddie Steward completes the team at fullback with 2022 World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year Ange Capuozzo also missing out.

 The panel who selected the World Rugby Men's 15s Dream Team of the year: Jacques Burger, Fiona Coghlan, Thierry Dusautoir, Drew Mitchell, Richie McCaw, Ugo Monye, Melodie Robinson, Blaine Scully, John Smit.

World Rugby Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Ultimate Rugby (@ultimaterugby)

1. Ellis Genge (England)

2. Malcolm Marx (South Africa)

3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland)

4. Tadhg Beirne (Ireland)

5. Sam Whitelock (New Zealand)

6. Pablo Matera (Argentina)

7. Josh van der Flier (Ireland)

8. Grégory Alldritt (France)

9. Antoine Dupont (France)

10. Johnny Sexton (Ireland)

11. Marika Koroibete (Australia)

12. Damian de Allende (South Africa)

13. Lukhanyo Am (South Africa)

14. Will Jordan (New Zealand)

15. Freddie Steward (England)

Latest News