2018 Super Rugby Departees XV

2018 Super Rugby Departees XV

As we head into the final round of the Super Rugby regular season we take a look at the players who could be playing their final match this weekend in the Southern Hemisphere competition before heading abroad or retiring.

1. Wyatt Crockett

The Crusaders man is one of the few players on this list not making the move North. 

The former All Black has decided to call time on his Super Rugby career after becoming the first player to reach 200 caps in the competition.

Bulls loosehead Pierre Schoeman will leave the competition to join PRO14 side Edinburgh. 

2. Adriaan Strauss

The most capped South African Super Rugby player has called time on his illustrious career having represented the Cheetahs and Bulls in the competition.

Fellow South African Franco Marais, meanwhile will be heading to England and linking up with former Lions coach Johan Ackerman at Gloucester. 

3. Ruan Dreyer

The tighthead was an integral part of the Lions squad that made consecutive Super Rugby finals and will be looking to help his side make it third time luck before joining former coach Johan Ackermann in Gloucester. 

Stormers veteran tighthead JC Janse van Rensburg is heading to France, as to is Highlanders tighthead Guy Millar.

4. Kane Douglas

Reds lock Kane Douglas will be joining Top14 side Bordeaux following the conclusion of this season. 

Douglas represented the Wallabies between 2012 and 2017 and returns to European rugby having spent time with Leinster.

The Hurricanes will also be losing a lock abroad with Michael Fatialofa joining Worcester Warriors. 

5. Franco Mostert

Like Dreyer, Mostert has been a crucial part of the Lions engine room over past few seasons and just like Dreyer he is set to join former coach Johan Ackermann in England.

The Chiefs will also be losing All Black Dominic Bird to a European club (Racing 92). 

6. Jerome Kaino

Three quality blindside flankers will leaving their clubs at the end of the season with Liam Messam joining Toulon, Brad Shields joining Wasps and Jerome Kaino Toulouse.

The Blues legend is arguably the biggest name of the three leaving the competition. 

7. Jaco Kriel

Another Lion makes the list with Jaco Kriel having been granted an early release to join Gloucester. 

The busy flanker failed to recover from injury and represent the Lions this season but his departure will still be felt in Johannesburg.

George Smith is another openside that is unlikely to return to Super Rugby next season. 

8.  Nizaam Carr

The Stormers will lose Springbok no.8 Nizaam Carr at the end of the season to re-join Wasps - who he went on a short loan with the English side last year.

Lopeti Timani (La Rochelle) and Blade Thompson (Scarlets) are the other two no.8s leaving the competition at the end of the season.

9. Dewaldt Duvenage

Duvenage will join newly promoted Top 14 side Grenoble at the end of the season. 

He is one of the only scrumhalves leaving the competition having spent most of his career with the Stormers. 

10. Nicolas Sanchez 

A number of flyhalves will be leaving the Southern Hemisphere competition. 

Sanchez is one of the biggest losses in terms of the value he brings to his side and the side's ability to replace him.

His fellow compatriot Juan Martin Hernandez will also not return to the competition next after he announced his retirement earlier this year.

The Highlanders will also begin life without Lima Sopoaga who is joining Wasps, while Reds lose Jono Lance to Worcester Warriors. 

Ihaia West is another flyhalf heading abroad to join La Rochelle. 

11. Taqele Naiyaravoro

Two Wallabies wingers will be heading abroad with Eto Nabuli joining Bordeaux Begles while Taqele Naiyaravoro joining Northampton Saints. 

The Waratahs winger will be sorely missed in Sydney after enjoying one of his finest seasons this year.

12. Charlie Ngatai

Inside centres were are a number of European clubs' shopping lists with four test centres leaving the competition at the end of the season.

All Black George Moala will leave the Blues and join Top 14 side Clermont, while Wallaby Kyle Godwin will trade Canberra for Connacht.

Waratah David Horwitz will also join fellow Australian Kyle Godwin in Ireland. 

Rohan Janse van Rensburg is another Lion who leave Johannesburg to join English side Sale Sharks.

Finally, the Chiefs will lose veteran Charlie Ngatai who has signed for French side Lyon.

13. Seta Tamanivalu

Although there is a number of inside centres leaving the competition, Seta Taminvalu is one of the few outside centres leaving for abroad.

Tamanivalu is primarily a centre despite starting on the wing for most of his career with the Crusaders, he is regularly moved into the outside centre position.

14. Julian Savea

The Bus will be heading to Toulon having spent the last 7 seasons with the Hurricanes. 

The World Cup winner leaves having played over 103 Super Rugby matches scoring more than 46 tries for the Hurricanes.

The move also brings an end to his test career after scoring 46 tries in 54 appearances.

Raymond Rhule is the other right winger moving to France after one season with the Stormers. 

15. Tim Nanai-Williams

The Chiefs' hot stepper missed his final season of Super Rugby through injury and will link up with Blues centre George Moala at Clermont next season. 

Lions fullback Andries Coetzee has also been linked to moves abroad with Toulon and Gloucester interested but no deal has been confirmed. 

More News

Latest News