Bath v London Irish: Redpath returns, Gigena starts

Bath v London Irish: Redpath returns, Gigena starts

The teams for Friday's Challenge Cup quarter-final between Bath and London Irish have been named.

Bath Rugby have made six changes for the clash at the Rec while Declan Kidney has handed Facundo Gigena his first start for the Exiles.

Update to the latest version of the Ultimate Rugby app here

Cam Redpath comes back into the starting XV after spell on the sidelines with injury. The Scotland centre last featured in his country’s Six Nations win over England with his last Bath outing coming at the end of January. He is joined in the midfield by Jonathan Joseph who was rested for the Blue, Black and White’s Round of 16 victory against Zebre. Ruaridh McConnochie also missed the trip to Italy and returns on the wing in an exciting back three containing Joe Cokanasiga and Anthony Watson.

Captain Charlie Ewels is available following a one-week suspension and the other two changes see Josh Bayliss and Zach Mercer earn starts. Wales international Taulupe Faletau switches to blindside flanker in a pack which is unchanged in shirt numbers one to four. Half-back duo Ben Spencer and Orlando Bailey continue their relationship for the third match running. Hooker Jacques du Toit could run out at the Rec for the first time following his try-scoring debut last time out while Juan Schoeman and Mike Williams are back in the 23

For the Exiles, Facundo Gigena is given his first start for the Club and is joined in the front row by Agustin Creevy and Lovejoy Chawatama, with George Nott and Rob Simmons combining in the second row. Matt Rogerson captains the side from blindside flanker and Blair Cowan is at openside flanker, with Albert Tuisue in the number 8 jersey. Nick Phipps and Paddy Jackson continue their partnership as the halfback duo, and Terrence Hepetema links up with Theo Brophy Clews in the centres. An unchanged back three of Ollie Hassell-Collins, Ben Loader and Tom Parton is named.

Update to the latest version of the Ultimate Rugby app here

Date: Fri 09 April 2021
KO: 20:00
Venue: Recreation Ground
  • 15. Anthony Watson, 
  • 14. Joe Cokanasiga, 
  • 13. Jonathan Joseph, 
  • 12. Cameron Redpath, 
  • 11. Ruaridh McConnochie, 
  • 10. Orlando Bailey, 
  • 9. Ben Spencer, 
  • 1. Beno Obano , 
  • 2. Jack Walker , 
  • 3. Will Stuart, 
  • 4. Josh McNally, 
  • 5. Charlie Ewels (c), 
  • 6. Taulupe Faletau, 
  • 7. Josh Bayliss, 
  • 8. Zach Mercer.
  • 16. Jacques du Toit, 
  • 17. Juan Schoeman, 
  • 18. Henry Thomas, 
  • 19. Mike Williams, 
  • 20. Miles Reid, 
  • 21. Will Chudley, 
  • 22. Max Clark , 
  • 23. Alex Gray,
  • 15. Tom Parton, 
  • 14. Ben Loader, 
  • 13. Theo Brophy Clews, 
  • 12. Terrence Hepetema, 
  • 11. Ollie Hassell-Collins, 
  • 10. Paddy Jackson, 
  • 9. Nick Phipps, 
  • 1. Facundo Gigena, 
  • 2. Agustin Creevy, 
  • 3. Lovejoy Chawatama, 
  • 4. George Nott, 
  • 5. Rob Simmons, 
  • 6. Matt Rogerson (c), 
  • 7. Blair Cowan, 
  • 8. Albert Tuisue.
  • 16. Matt Cornish, 
  • 17. Harry Elrington, 
  • 18. Oliver Hoskins, 
  • 19. Chunya Munga, 
  • 20. Ben Donnell, 
  • 21. Sean O'Brien, 
  • 22. Ben Meehan, 
  • 23. James Stokes,

Referee: Frank Murphy (Ireland)

AR1: Anthony Woodthorpe (England)

AR2: Phil Watters (England)

TMO: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)

Broadcasters: BT Sport / beIN SPORTS



Latest News