Can Australia Break New Zealand’s Bledisloe Cup Stranglehold?

Can Australia Break New Zealand’s Bledisloe Cup Stranglehold?

This weekend is the 144th fixture of the Bledisloe Cup and it is a big one for New Zealand if they are wanting to win The Rugby Championship but it could also be an interesting one for Australia who are hoping to break the All Black dominance.

It has been 17 years since the Wallabies have had their hands on the Bledisloe Cup and they will need to focus on winning both Tests if they want to regain the trophy. Meanwhile the All Blacks, who are the current holders, just need to win one out of the two games retain the famous cup.

The All Blacks have looked a little disjointed in their first two TRC matches and this is something Aussie coach Michael Cheika may or may not want to exploit in Perth on Saturday. Both teams have one win on the board but NZ are ahead on points as they drew to South Africa, while Australia lost.

The Bledisloe Cup Record:

Total Matches: 143

All Black wins: 101 (55 at home, 43 away and three on neutral ground)

Wallaby wins: 36 (21 at home, 14 awayand one on neutral ground)

Draws: 6 (five in Australia and one in New Zealand)

The Last Wallabies XV to win the Bledisloe Cup


Chris Latham, Ben Tune, Matt Burke, Daniel Herbert, Stirling Mortlock, Stephen Larkham, George Gregan, Toutai Kefu, George Smith, Owen Finegan, Justin Harrison, Nathan Sharpe, Patricio Noriega, Jeremy Paul and Bill Young

More News

Latest News