New Zealand Rugby Awards Nominees

New Zealand Rugby Awards Nominees

On Thursday New Zealand Rugby will have their awards.

New Zealand Rugby Chief Executive Steve Tew said:  “Congratulations to all those nominated for awards.  Every year, the ASB Rugby Awards is an opportunity for us to celebrate excellence, perseverance, success and triumph.  It’s also important to acknowledge those volunteers who keep the game alive in the community through their dedication, hard work and tenacity.  These are the attitudes that are important to any rugby team.

“As the game grows and we see the support and growth of our other teams in black, it has become appropriate to acknowledge them separately for the contributions they make to their specific part of rugby.  The All Blacks continue to be an important global figure for us, and the Black Ferns are driving real growth in the game in New Zealand and overseas.  The globe-trotting Black Ferns Sevens and All Blacks Sevens teams are now popular figures in every country in which they play during the World Series,” he said.

Here are a list of the categories and nominees

Judges Panel: Mike Eagle, Graham Mourie, Tony Johnson, Matt Sexton, Dr Farah Palmer 

ASB Rugby Award Nominations 2019

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year

•    Rebecca Mahoney (Wairarapa Bush)
•    Ben O’Keeffe (Wellington)
•    Paul Williams (Taranaki)

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year

•    Sue Mitchell (Taranaki)
•    Kevin Pulley (Wellington)
•    Ian Spraggon (Bay of Plenty)

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year

•    Zach Gallagher (Canterbury)
•    Fletcher Newell (Canterbury)
•    Tupou Vaa’i (Taranaki)

Mitre 10 Heartland Championship Player of the Year

•    Josh Clark (North Otago)
•    Campbell Hart (Whanganui)
•    Robbie Smith (North Otago)

Duane Monkley Medal

•    Gareth Evans (Hawke’s Bay)
•    Salesi Rayasi (Auckland)
•    Fletcher Smith (Waikato)
•    Chase Tiatia (Bay of Plenty)

Fiao’o Faamausili Medal

•    Chelsea Bremner (Canterbury Women)
•    Ayesha Leti-I’iga (Wellington)
•    Patricia Maliepo (Auckland)

ASB National Coach of the Year

•    Andrew Goodman (Tasman, Crusaders) and Clarke Dermody (Tasman)
•    Kieran Kite (Canterbury)
•    Scott Robertson (Crusaders)

ASB New Zealand Coach of the Year

•    Steve Hansen (All Blacks)
•    Glenn Moore (Black Ferns)
•    Cory Sweeney and Allan Bunting (Black Ferns Sevens)

Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year

•    Scott Barrett (Crusaders)
•    Ardie Savea (Hurricanes)
•    Brad Weber (Chiefs)

Tom French Memorial Māori Player of the Year

•    Ash Dixon (Ngāti Tahinga)
•    Sarah Hirini (Ngāti Kahungunu)
•    TJ Perenara (Te Arawa / Ngāti Rangitihi)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year

•    Dylan Collier (Waikato)
•    Andrew Knewstubb (Horowhenua Kapiti)
•    Tone Ng Shiu (Tasman)

Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year

•    Kelly Brazier (Bay of Plenty)
•    Sarah Hirini (Manawatu)
•    Tyla Nathan-Wong (Auckland)

 Black Ferns Player of the Year

•    Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
•    Ayesha Leti-I’iga (Wellington)
•    Charmaine McMenamin (Auckland)

All Blacks Player of the Year

•    Beauden Barrett (Hurricanes)
•    Anton Lienert-Brown (Chiefs)
•    Ardie Savea (Hurricanes)

adidas National Team of the Year

•    Canterbury Women
•    Crusaders
•    Tasman Mako

adidas New Zealand Team of the Year

•    All Blacks
•    Black Ferns Sevens
•    Black Ferns

Latest News