Pools confirmed for Rugby World Cup 2023 in France

Pools confirmed for Rugby World Cup 2023 in France

Preparations for Rugby World Cup 2023 in France marked an important milestone today with confirmation of the pools for the 10th edition of the pinnacle competition in men’s 15s rugby.

The draw hosted in Paris was opened by World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont and French President Emmanuel Macron as France prepares to deliver a landmark event for players, fans, the host nation and rugby.

Confirmation of the pools means that teams and fans can now start to plan their Rugby World Cup 2023 adventure.

RWC 2023 - POOLS

  • Pool A: New Zealand, France, Italy, Americas 1, Africa 1
  • Pool B: South Africa, Ireland, Scotland, Asia/Pacific 1, Europe 2
  • Pool C: Wales, Australia, Fiji, Europe 1, Final Qualifier Winner
  • Pool D: England, Japan, Argentina, Oceania 1, Americas 2


  • England and Japan meet in the Pool stages again having faced off in the inaugural tournament in 1987
  •  France have met New Zealand in two finals but only once in a pool match, in 2011
  • Ireland and South Africa will meet in the pool stages of the competition for the first time
  • Wales meet Australi and Fiji in the pool stages again. Wales have faced off against both nations 4 times in the pool stages of previous competitions.
View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Ultimate Rugby (@ultimaterugby)

Latest News