Premiership Women's rugby structure announced

Premiership Women's rugby structure announced

The Premiership Women’s Rugby league season will kick off on Saturday 5 October with the Final being staged on Sunday 16 March, it can be confirmed.

“We want to do all we can to help England win the Women’s World Cup so this season structure was agreed after a very collaborative process with the RFU,” said Belinda Moore, the Chief Executive of Premiership Women’s Rugby (PWR).

“Kicking off in October we can all look forward to a brilliant Final which takes place 24 hours after Super Saturday in the Men’s Six Nations, creating an unmissable weekend of rugby next March.”

  • First PWR League match – Saturday 5 October
  • PWR Final on Sunday 16 March
  • The PWR Up Series will be staged in September
  • In each round of the PWR League one of our teams will receive a rest weekend

Belinda Moore added: “In the coming season having the Women’s Six Nations after the PWR Final gives the Red Roses certainly over their five-week rest period, which means they will return to club action after the Women’s World Cup."

An innovative set of pre-season matches has also been agreed with the PWR Up Series being played regionally on September 7, 14 and 21.

Belinda Moore said: “With the support of all of our clubs we have decided to play a short regional competition in September so our players and clubs are ready to go for the start of the PWR season in October.

“Our clubs are starting to develop close, regional rivalries and we believe this is just what our players and clubs need before the league season kicks off.”

Latest News