Provincial Barbarians squad confirmed for Lions Series

Provincial Barbarians squad confirmed for Lions Series

New Zealand Provincial Barbarians coach Clayton McMillan has confirmed the final selection of his squad to open the NZ Lions Series on 3 June in Whangarei.

The final selection includes several changes from the original team announcement last month, with a number of players involved in Super Rugby.

“It’s great to see provincial players make the step-up to Super Rugby and put in some impressive performances,” said McMillan.

“While we would have loved to have them involved in our campaign we recognise they are needed elsewhere but our coaching group is confident we have selected a strong group of players who will relish this opportunity to take on the British & Irish Lions.”

Experienced campaigner Dwayne Sweeney comes into the midfield, alongside former All Blacks Sevens player Sam Vaka.

Super Rugby experience will be injected into the forward pack with Andrew Makalio, Oliver Jager, James Tucker, Mitch Dunshea and Lachlan Boshier set to bring more strength up front.

 Six players have been withdrawn from the original squad with Johnny Fa'auli, Jonathan Taumateine, Mitchell Brown, Quentin Strange, Heiden Bedwell-Curtis and Epalahame Faiva all being withdrawn.

The squad is:

Aidan Ross (Bay of Plenty)
Tolu Fahamokioa (Wellington)
Sam Anderson-Heather (Otago)
Andrew Makalio (Tasman)
Marcel Renata (Auckland)
Oliver Jager (Canterbury)
Keepa Mewett (Bay of Plenty)
Joshua Goodhue (Northland)
James Tucker (Waikato)
Mitchell Dunshea (Canterbury)
Lachlan Boshier (Taranaki)
Matthew Matich (Northland)
Peter Rowe (Wanganui)

Jack Stratton (Canterbury)
Richard Judd (Bay of Plenty)
Bryn Gatland (North Harbour)
Dwayne Sweeney (Waikato)
Kaveinga Finau (Inga) (Canterbury)
Jonah Lowe (Hawke’s Bay)
Sevuloni Reece (Waikato)
Sam Vaka (Counties Manukau)
Luteru Laulala (Counties Manukau)
Junior Ngaluafe (Southland)


Players unavailable due to Super Rugby commitments: Hame Haiva (Blues), Quentin Strange (Crusaders), Mitch Brown (Chiefs), Heiden Bedwell-Curtis (Chiefs), Jonathan Taumateine (Chiefs), Johnny Fa’auli (Chiefs).

Latest News