Sanele Nohamba wins URC POTY

Sanele Nohamba wins URC POTY

Lions playmaker Sanele Nohamba has been named Vodacom URC Player of the Season 2024 following a fantastic campaign with the Johannesburg-based franchise.

The award was open to any player from one of the four South African franchises, and forms part of the annual SA Rugby Awards, with the winner determined by votes from the South African media, the four South African franchise coaches, and Springboks head coach, Rassie Erasmus.

Nohamba edged out Vodacom Bulls duo Kurt-Lee Arendse and Cameron Hanekom in winning the coveted award.

The 25-year-old played all 18 regular season games for the Emirates Lions, who just missed out on a spot on the Play-Offs on the final day.

He scored two tries, racking up 117 points in total with 31 conversions, 14 penalties, and one drop-goal slotted over bar.

Nohamba also made 462 metres, with seven try-assists, and 19 defenders beaten in an excellent all-round season.

“Sanele Nohamba has brought such a fresh and exciting element to the Vodacom United Rugby Championship this season and is a thoroughly deserving winner of this award. His humility and service to his teammates epitomises the spirit of this competition, and indeed Vodacom’s own belief that we can all do so much more if we go Further Together. His triumph is a testament to the skills and character of a player who showed his true potential this season, and who is undoubtedly destined for greatness in the game.” – Sitho Mdlalose, CEO of Vodacom South Africa

Be sure to follow all the URC Awards announcements using the hashtag #URCAwards.

URC Awards Winners 2023-24


Tackle Machine: Alessandro Izekor (Benetton Rugby)

Turnover King: Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby)

Gilbert Golden Boot: Chris Smith (Vodacom Bulls)

OFX Top Try Scorer: Johnny Matthews (Glasgow Warriors)

Ironman Award: Shane Daly (Munster Rugby)

Next-Gen Player of the Season: Jack Crowley (Munster Rugby)

Try of the Season Powered by Aphelele Fassi (Hollywoodbets Sharks)

Elixirr Innovation Award: Benetton

Elite XV: Warrick Gelant (DHL Stormers), Jordan Larmour (Leinster Rugby), Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Nankivell (Munster Rugby), Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls), Jack Crowley (Munster Rugby), John Cooney (Ulster Rugby), Ox Nche (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Akker van der Merwe (Vodacom Bulls), Wilco Louw (Vodacom Bulls), Tadhg Beirne (Munster Rugby), Ruan Nortjé (Vodacom Bulls), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), Elrigh Louw (Vodacom Bulls), Cameron Hanekom (Vodacom Bulls)

Vodacom URC Player of the Season: Sanele Nohamba (Emirates Lions)

Latest News