Three changes for Munster ahead of URC Quarter-final

Three changes for Munster ahead of URC Quarter-final

The Munster team has been named ahead of Friday night’s URC quarter-final against Ospreys at Thomond Park.

The game kicks off at 7.35pm. There are three personnel changes to the side that beat Ulster last week.

Antoine Frisch returns from a leg injury to make his 40th Munster appearance in the only change to the backline with John Hodnett and Gavin Coombes coming into the pack.

The back three of Simon Zebo, Calvin Nash and Shane Daly is unchanged.

Seán O’Brien and Frisch form the centre partnership as O’Brien moves to inside centre.

Craig Casey and Jack Crowley continue their half-back partnership.

Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row with RG Snyman and captain Tadhg Beirne completing an unchanged front five.

Peter O’Mahony, Hodnett and Coombes start in the back row.

In the replacements, Diarmuid Barron is included after recovering from a foot injury sustained in December with Academy out-half Tony Butler in line for his seventh appearance of the campaign.

Barron, John Ryan and Oli Jager provide the front row back-up as Jack O’Donoghue and Alex Kendellen complete the forward cover.

Conor Murray, Butler and Mike Haley are the backline replacements.

Munster: Simon Zebo; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Seán O’Brien, Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey; Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; RG Snyman, Tadhg Beirne (C); Peter O’Mahony, John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, John Ryan, Oli Jager, Jack O’Donoghue, Alex Kendellen, Conor Murray, Tony Butler, Mike Haley.

Press Pass

Hear from Simon Zebo and Defence Coach Denis Leamy ahead of the game.

Latest News