URC Quarter-Final Lineups: Bulls and Sharks make one change

URC Quarter-Final Lineups: Bulls and Sharks make one change

The teams for the United Rugby Championship clash between the Bulls and Sharks have been named.

  • Arno Botha, starting at blindside flank for the Bulls, is the only change to the starting XV
  • Sharks have made one change to their starting XV with Le Roux Roets coming into the pack


The Bulls have kept some continuity, making only one change to their starting XV that was on duty in their previous match – an impressive victory over Ospreys in Wales.


Experienced flanker, Arno Botha, will earn a starting berth in place of Cyle Brink, who sustained an injury in their last outing.


The home side’s bench has been bolstered with the inclusion of Springboks, Lizo Gqoboka, who will provide loosehead prop cover, and veteran flyhalf Morne Steyn.




The Sharks teams shows just one change from the previous clash two weeks ago.

Le Roux Roets starts in Ruben van Heerden’s place in the second row with the remainder of the side retained.



Bulls Director of Rugby Jake White said“I am really proud of our players for what they have achieved in reaching this stage of the Vodacom URC. They have put in the hard work and have shown great determination to overcome some obstacles in the early stages of the season to reach the playoffs.


The Sharks have been an outstanding side throughout the campaign. They have shown their quality with all the Springboks in their squad, their depth with the great talent at their disposal and consistency which has seen them claim some good results.

The fact that we have lost twice to them in the round robin stages shows the quality of their side. We are expecting a very tough battle. We have done what we can in our preparations for this weekend’s match. Now we will need to now implement and execute our plans well and play our best rugby if we want to overcome a quality outfit like the Sharks.”



Bulls: Canan Moodie, David Kriel, Cornal Hendricks, Harold Vorster, Madosh Tambwe, Chris Smith, Zak Burger; Gerhard Steenekamp, Johan Grobbelaar, Mornay Smith, Walt Steenkamp, Ruan Nortje, Marcell Coetzee (CAPT), Arno Botha, Elrigh Louw

Replacements: Jan-Hendrik Wessels, Lizo Gqoboka, Robert Hunt, Janko Swanepoel, Reinhardt Ludwig; Embrose Papier, Morne Steyn, Stedman Gans

Sharks: Aphelele Fassi, Werner Kok, Lukhanyo Am, Marius Louw, Makazole Mapimpi, Curwin Bosch, Jaden Hendrikse, Ox Nche, Bongi Mbonambi, Thomas du Toit (CAPT), Le Roux Roets, Reniel Hugo, Siya Kolisi, Henco Venter, Phepsi Buthelezi

Replacements:  Kerron van Vuuren, Ntuthuko Mchunu, Khutha Mchunu, Ruben van Heerden, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Grant Williams, Boeta Chamberlain, Ben Tapuai

Bulls v Cell C Sharks  

Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria – KO 12.45  IRE & UK / 13.45 ITA & SA

Referee: Andrew Brace (IRFU, 79th league game)

AR 1: Mike Adamson (SRU)  AR 2: Sam Grove-White (SRU) 

TMO: Joy Neville (IRFU)

Live on: SuperSport, Premier Sports & URC TV

Latest News