Late in the first half, Anthony Watson was sent to the sin bin for what was adjudged to be an intentional knockdown on a pass by Hadleigh Parkes.
The decision to send Watson to the sin bin caused some debate in itself with a number of spectators suggesting that he was just attempting to make the tackle on Parkes.
No, you can’t complain about people not using arms in the tackle then suddenly say it’s a yellow card offence to have your arms at that height if they try pass!— Blindside Rugby (@funners123) August 17, 2019
Also Watson has to make that tackle, bad call from the referee.
No. Shocking decision. Arms out to make the tackle before the ball is released.— Sam Rice (@TheSamRice) August 17, 2019
However, the debate didn't stop there as Watson was leaving the pitch, Dan Biggar sent a cross-kick out to Josh Adams and the winger gained some good ground before Biggar sent another cross-kick out to George North who scored.
The debate around the legality of the try was whether Biggar was allowed to take the kick while Watson was still on the pitch as the England winger was still making his way off the field when Biggar made the first kick.
Awful sportsmanship from Wales. An undeserved Yellow to Watson, the physios and Watson himself aren’t even off the pitch yet. Absolute poor, poor sportsmanship. Foul. #ENGvWAL— Amy Windross (@EHUMissWindross) August 17, 2019
Sin bin for Watson is a joke!!!! But England asleep and concede the try.............— 😀RunningStew😀 (@AYEARFORHOPE) August 17, 2019
Watson not even off the pitch though so what are the rules on that?? #ENGvWAL
Shouldn’t have been a wales try Watson wasn’t off the field and winger was off side when bigger kicked it #ENGvWAL— Kieran (@Kieran_Yeomans1) August 17, 2019