2017/2018 Nuit du Rugby Awards Winners

2017/2018 Nuit du Rugby Awards Winners

The 15th edition of Nuit du Rugby (Night of Rugby) was held on September 24 at Olympia for the best players, staffs, teams and referees of the Top 14 and the Pro D2. 

Some notable winners include Ben Botica, who scooped the 2018 Player of the Year for the Top 14.

The New Zealand first-five scored 318 points for Oyonnax during their first division campaign before the team was relegated during the 2017-18 season.

Toulon's Mathieu Bastareaud was named the best French international in the Top 14. Bastareaud made the French XV in November 2017 for the first time since October 2015.

Fair Play of the Year Award went to Tala Gray for his good sportsmanship when he shielded an injured player from the opposition.

Best Staff Award went to Castres Rugby.

The CO staff has been rewarded / Photo NRL

"It is true that it is a little delicious as a sensation but what is nice is the way we made the trip from last year to the final," commented coach Christophe Urios.

"Today, it comes to reward that but the pleasure we had taken before. The strength of this club is that we never deviated. We kept working even when it was hard. This season again, nothing will make us deviate from what we want to do. "

The winners of the rugby night 2018 : 
Top 14 player: Benjamin Botica (Oyonnax)
Best technical staff of Top 14: Castres
Revelation: Baptiste Couilloud (Lyon)
Best international: Mathieu Bastareaud (Toulon)
Best Pro D2 player: Lifeimi Mafi (Perpignan)
Best technical staff of Pro D2: Perpignan
Best referee: Jérôme Garcès 
Best player of Top 8: Caroline Drouin (Rennes)
Best public: Vannes (Pro D2)
Fair play award: Talelei Gray, with Toulouse, for his action of protection against Virgile Bruni (Lyon) November 26, 2017
Most beautiful test: Paul Jordaan for La Rochelle against Montpellier April 8, 2018

Latest News