Falcons name unchanged side as Saracens make three changes to the starting line-up

Falcons name unchanged side as Saracens make three changes to the starting line-up

Newcastle Falcons

Newcastle Falcons have named an unchanged side for Sunday’s visit of Gallagher Premiership leaders Saracens.

Head coach Dave Walder goes with the same starting XV which defeated previously-unbeaten Bristol Bears 30-15 last Friday, with Will Welch captaining the team.

Adam Radwan and George McGuigan both start after spending three days in England’s training camp during the first half of the week, with the Argentina trio of Mateo Carreras, Matias Orlando and Matias Moroni all included having impressed last time out.

Fit-again scrum-half Michael Young takes up a place on the bench after breaking his hand in pre-season action at Leicester Tigers in August, while Jamie Blamire reverts to replacement hooker after his back-row exploits during the early part of the season.

Freddie Lockwood serves as back-row cover having returned from a loan spell at Jersey Reds, with Ben Stevenson also added to the bench.

Newcastle Falcons team to face Saracens (Sunday, 3pm, Kingston Park Stadium).

15 Tom Penny, 14 Adam Radwan, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Matias Orlando, 11 Mateo Carreras, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Sam Stuart; 1 Adam Brocklebank, 2 George McGuigan, 3 Trevor Davison, 4 Greg Peterson, 5 Sean Robinson, 6 Will Welch (captain), 7 Connor Collett, 8 Callum Chick.

Replacements: 16 Jamie Blamire, 17 Logovi’i Mulipola, 18 Richard Palframan, 19 Sebastian de Chaves, 20 Freddie Lockwood, 21 Michael Young, 22 Pete Lucock, 23 Ben Stevenson.

Not available for selection: Phil Brantingham, Luke Coulston, Nathan Earle, Carl Fearns, Gary Graham, Conor Kenny, Tom Marshall, George Merrick, Chidera Obonna, Charlie Smith, Josh Thomas, Philip van der Walt.

Saracens: 15 Elliot Daly, 14 Max Malins, 13 Alex Lozowski, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Alex Lewington, 10 Owen Farrell (captain), 9 Ivan Van Zyl; 1 Mako Vunipola, 2 Kapeli Pifeleti, 3 Marco Riccioni, 4 Callum Hunter-Hill, 5 Theo McFarland, 6 Jackson Wray, 7 Ben Earl, 8 Billy Vunipola.

Replacements: 16 Theo Dan, 17 Eroni Mawi, 18 Alec Clarey, 19 Hugh Tizard, 20 Andy Christie, 21 Ruben de Haas, 22 Alex Goode, 23 Josh Hallett.

Referee: Wayne Barnes.


There are three changes to the starting line-up and they all come up front, as Kapeli Pifeleti, Riccioni and Jackson Wray all get the nod for the trip to Kingston Park. 



Mako Vunipola remains at loosehead with Pifeleti and Riccioni alongside him in the front-row, whilst Theo McFarland moves in to the second-row to accompany Callum Hunter-Hill. 



Wray is at blindside after making his 200th Premiership appearance last week, and he will have Ben Earl and Billy Vunipola for company in the back-row. 



Ivan van Zyl and captain Owen Farrell continue their half-back partnership which flourished against the Tigers, with Nick Tompkins and Alex Lozowski also staying in a settled midfield. 



Alex Lewington will be on the left wing, with Max Malins on the right and in-form Elliot Daly at full-back. 



On the bench there is a mix of experience and youth which will excite Sarries fans. There will be opportunities for academy graduates Theo Dan and Josh Hallett to make their mark, whilst Alex Goode will be eyeing up another step towards full fitness after making his return last Saturday. 




Saracens Men team to play Newcastle Falcons:

1 Mako Vunipola

2 Kapeli Pifeleti 

3 Marco Riccioni 

4 Callum Hunter-Hill

5 Theo McFarland

6 Jackson Wray 

7 Ben Earl

8 Billy Vunipola

9 Ivan Van Zyl 

10 Owen Farrell (c)

11 Alex Lewington

12 Nick Tompkins

13 Alex Lozowski 

14 Max Malins

15 Elliot Daly


16 Theo Dan 

17 Eroni Mawi 

18 Alec Clarey 

19 Hugh Tizard

20 Andy Christie 

21 Ruben de Haas 

22 Alex Goode 

23 Josh Hallett

Latest News