Jaco Taute leads Tigers against Bayonne

Jaco Taute leads Tigers against Bayonne

Head coach Steve Borthwick has named his Leicester Tigers team for the European Challenge Cup preliminary stage fixture in Bayonne this weekend.


Jaco Taute will lead out Tigers at the Stade Jean Dauger on Saturday evening on his return to the backline and he partners Dan Kelly at centre.


Fiji international Kini Murimurivalu switches to full-back after making his return in the Round 1 win over Brive, with Guy Porter and Harry Simmons completing the back three and Zack Henry partnering Ben White at half-back.


Charlie Clare joins Joe Heyes, who made his 50th first-team appearance last week, and Nephi Leatigaga in the front row, with Tomás Lavanini and Cameron Henderson at lock.


Tommy Reffell returns to the back row alongside Jordan Taufua and Ollie Chessum.


Loosehead prop James Whitcombe is called into the matchday squad after playing in the club’s fixture at Saracens last Saturday, with Dan Cole and Jake Kerr providing the other front-row cover from the bench.


Harry Wells, Luke Wallace and Cyle Brink, who was among the tryscorers in Round 1, are the other forwards in the squad. Jack Van Poortvliet and Joaquín Díaz Bonilla complete the options among the replacements.


Head coach Steve Borthwick said: “Bayonne are a good team and it will be a first visit there for almost all of our team. We’ve made a few changes but the guys coming in have earned their opportunity to play and it’s good to have Tommy Reffell back after sitting out last week.”


There is live coverage of Saturday’s game with EPCRtv.com or stay in touch with the Tigers’ Matchday Live Service, website, app and social media.


Leicester Tigers (v Bayonne, away, Saturday 9.00pm local/8.00pm UK time)

15 Kini Murimurivalu

14 Guy Porter

13 Jaco Taute (c)

12 Dan Kelly

11 Harry Simmons

10 Zack Henry

9 Ben White

1 Nephi Leatigaga

2 Charlie Clare

3 Joe Heyes

4 Cameron Henderson

5 Tomás Lavanini

6 Ollie Chessum

7 Tommy Reffell

8 Jordan Taufua



16 James Whitcombe

17 Jake Kerr

18 Dan Cole

19 Harry Wells

20 Cyle Brink

21 Luke Wallace

22 Jack Van Poortvliet

23 Joaquín Díaz Bonilla

Latest News