Sharks squad announcement and injury report

Sharks squad announcement and injury report

The Hollywoodbets Sharks have selected an exciting team for Friday evening’s Round 14 Vodacom United Rugby Championship clash with Glasgow Warriors.

Over the last month, many of the stalwarts have had to carry a hugely physical load and now get the opportunity to rest up, or in this case, play a shortened (but still vital) role off the bench.

Hollywoodbets Sharks assistant coach Dave Williams explained from the team’s base that, “Whichever team is put out, the expectation is always the same: to deliver a performance in The Sharks way. With the workload some of the guys have endured, this was an opportunity for us to freshen the squad up, whilst still demanding the same performance and building on that confidence.”

Francois Venter leads a side that despite the many changes, still brings a vast amount of experience, and the competition for places that has been spoken about will certainly provide motivation for the players who have been entrusted with the responsibility of maintaining the exceptional form and momentum the Hollywoodbets Sharks have achieved over the last few weeks.

“The team’s success comes down to consistency, availability of our full roster, and that combined with time spent together and a continued belief in what we’re doing has resulted in some good performances,” Williams explained.

After a difficult start to the campaign, the ship is sailing steadily and the team is in a good mental space.

“Confidence does a lot for the team, the spirit coming in on a Monday is high, it brings belief and the confidence to carry out the plan on the field.

“We now have a great challenge against Glasgow, they’re unbeaten at home this season so a real challenge for the guys to build a performance and gain a win away from home.”

Hollywoodbets Sharks
1. Ntuthuko Mchunu
2. Dan Jooste
3. Hanro Jacobs
4. Corne Rahl
5. Gerbrandt Grobler
6. Tino Mavesere
7. Lappies Labuschagne
8. Nick Hatton*
9. Grant Williams
10. Curwin Bosch
11. Aphiwe Dyantyi
12. Francois Venter (c)
13. Murray Koster
14. Eduan Keyter
15. Boeta Chamberlain

16. Fez Mbatha
17. Khwezi Mona
18. Vincent Koch
19. Emile van Heerden
20. Vincent Tshituka
21. Cameron Wright
22. Siya Masuku
23. Ethan Hooker

* Denotes debut for the Hollywoodbets Sharks

Players not available for selection due to injury 
•    Coenie Oosthuizen
•    Dylan Richardson 
•    James Venter

•    George Cronje

•    Reniel Hugo

•    Le Roux Roets

•    Marnus Potgieter
•    Muller du Plessis 
•    Nevaldo Fleurs 
•    Zee Mkhabela

Latest News