Super Rugby: Wrap Up and Team of the Week

Super Rugby: Wrap Up and Team of the Week

A thrilling round of Super Rugby Aotearoa saw both games head into extra time with the Chiefs edging out the Highlanders in the competition's first-ever golden point extra time before the Crusaders won their extra time through the boot of David Havili.

In Super Rugby Australia, the Rebels failed to turn dominance into points and were shocked by the Western Force on Friday while the Reds overturned their first-half deficit to see off the battling Brumbies.

 Update to the latest version of the Ultimate Rugby app here

We recap the weekend's action and pick our team of the week.

Melbourne Rebels 15-16 Western Force

The Western Force snatched a dramatic 16-15 victory over the Rebels on Friday as the home side failed to capitalise on their dominance at AAMI Park. Despite enjoying 65 per cent of the possession and more than twice as many passes and carries, the Rebels were thwarted by their own lack of cutting edge against a rigid rearguard.

Force then made them pay with the only try of the contest in the 78th minute, Tim Anstee touching down after a rolling maul and Domingo Miotti adding the extras. Matt Toomua's penalty had given the Rebels a 15-6 lead midway through the second half but a further kick that struck the upright proved a costly miss in an error-strewn contest. Miotti also missed a kick prior to the visitors' critical try, before a last-gasp wayward drop goal attempt from Reece Hodge brought the contest to a frustrating end for the Rebels.

It was a 10th successive Super Rugby meeting between the sides decided by a single-digit margin.

Chiefs 26-23 Highlanders

Queensland Reds 24-22 Brumbies

Hurricanes 27-30 Crusaders

Ultimate Rugby's Super Rugby Team of the Week

  1. Tom Robertson - Western Force
  2. Codie Taylor - Crusaders
  3.  Taniela Tupou - Reds
  4. Caderyn Neville - Brumbies
  5. Sitaleki Timani - Western Force
  6. Sione Havili - Crusaders
  7. Ardie Savea - Hurricanes
  8. Pete Samu - Brumbies
  9. Aaron Smith - Highlanders
  10. James O'Connor - Reds
  11. George Bridge - Crusaders
  12. David Havili - Crusaders
  13. Anton Lienert-Brown - Chiefs
  14. Jordan Petaia - Reds
  15. Damian McKenzie - Chiefs

 Update to the latest version of the Ultimate Rugby app here

Latest News