Team Announcement: Leicester Tigers Vs Edinburgh Rugby

Team Announcement: Leicester Tigers Vs Edinburgh Rugby

Richard Wigglesworth has named the Leicester Tigers matchday squad to play Edinburgh Rugby in the 2022/23 Heineken Champions Cup Round of 16.

Julián Montoya will captain the team at Mattioli Woods Welford Road on Friday night.

Wigglesworth has made six changes to his starting side from last weekend’s Gallagher Premiership win against Bristol, which includes a return to action for Guy Porter who missed the bonus-point victory over the Bears.

The only other changes to the starting backline are the inclusions of Freddie Steward and Jack van Poortvliet, who came off the bench in last week’s league outing, at full-back and scrum-half.

In the pack, James Cronin, Dan Cole and Tommy Reffell - who all came off the bench against Bristol - are named to start.

The trio replace Tom West, Joe Heyes and Jasper Wiese, who are named on the bench.

Meanwhile, also included among the replacements, is Dan Kelly who is in line for his return from injury after being sidelined for 10 weeks and Sam Wolstenholme who, if used, will make his Leicester Tigers debut.

15 Freddie Steward [68]
14 Anthony Watson [12]
13 Guy Porter [56]
12 Jimmy Gopperth [13]
11 Harry Potter [62]
10 Handré Pollard [10]
9 Jack van Poortvliet [61]
1 James Cronin [12]
2 Julián Montoya (c) [39]
3 Dan Cole [305]
4 George Martin [54]
5 Cameron Henderson [32]
6 Hanro Liebenberg [80]
7 Tommy Reffell [95]
8 Olly Cracknell [20]

16 Charlie Clare [74]
17 Tom West [6]
18 Joe Heyes [119]
19 Eli Snyman [31]
20 Jasper Wiese [56]
21 Sam Wolstenholme *
22 Charlie Atkinson [14]
23 Dan Kelly [51]

Meanwhile, Edinburgh Rugby welcome the return of several Scotland stars for tomorrow night’s Champions Cup Round of 16 clash against Leicester Tigers at Mattioli Woods Welford Road (Friday 31 March, kick-off 8pm) – live on BT Sport.


Prop Pierre Schoeman, back-row duo Jamie Ritchie and Hamish Watson, and wing Duhan van der Merwe all return to the starting line-up as Head Coach Mike Blair names five changes to the XV that faced Connacht last weekend.

WP Nel – who featured from the bench in Galway – starts at tighthead prop in the only other alteration as Edinburgh make a first visit to Welford Road since the 2007/08 campaign.

An electric back-thee sees Scotland duo Darcy Graham and Van der Merwe paired on opposite wings as Argentine international Emiliano Boffelli continues at full-back.

Centres James Lang and Mark Bennett once again link-up in midfield and stand-off Blair Kinghorn combines with experienced scrum-half Henry Pyrgos at half-back.

Up front, hooker Stuart McInally packs down alongside Schoeman and Nel as locks Grant Gilchrist and Sam Skinner complete an all-Scotland tight-five.

Scotland captain Ritchie and British & Irish Lion Watson return to a back-row that is anchored by Fijian club centurion Viliame Mata.


15. Emiliano Boffelli (28)

14. Darcy Graham (57)
13. Mark Bennett (85)
12. James Lang (36)
11. Duhan van der Merwe (72)

10. Blair Kinghorn (131)
9. Henry Pyrgos (81)

1. Pierre Schoeman (95)
2. Stuart McInally (174)
3. WP Nel (185)
4. Sam Skinner (11)
5. Grant Gilchrist (187) Co-captain
6. Jamie Ritchie (95) Co-captain
7. Hamish Watson (137)
8. Viliame Mata (113)



16. Dave Cherry (68)
17. Boan Venter (43)
18. Luan de Bruin (19)
19. Marshall Sykes (39)
20. Luke Crosbie (83)
21. Ben Vellacott (36)
22. Cammy Hutchison (18)
23. Damien Hoyland (104)


Unavailable: Matt Currie, Wes Goosen, Nick Haining, Henry Immelman, Ben Muncaster, Harry Paterson, Pierce Phillips, Charlie Savala, Angus Williams.

Latest News