Urroz set for Rugby World Cup debut - Chile name team to play England

Urroz set for Rugby World Cup debut - Chile name team to play England

Chile head coach Pablo Lemoine has announced his match-day 23 for the match against England in Pool D at Stade Pierre-Mauroy in Lille on Saturday, with only six players retaining their starting place from the team that lost 43-10 to Samoa last week.

1 Salvador Lues
2 Augusto Bohme
3 Matias Dittus
4 Clemente Saavedra
5 Javier Eissmann
6 Martín Sigren (c)
7 Ignacio Silva
8 Alfonso Escobar
9 Benjamin Videla
10 Rodrigo Fernandez
11 Franco Velarde
12 Matias Garafulic
13 Domingo Saavedra
14 Cristobal Game
15 Francisco Urroz

16 Tomas Dussaillant
17 Vittorio Lastra
18 Inaki Gurruchaga
19 Pablo Huete
20 Thomas Orchard
21 Raimundo Martínez
22 Lukas Carvallo
23 Inaki Ayarza

  • Head coach Pablo Lemoine played 48 tests for Uruguay, including at Rugby World Cup 1999 and 2003. He scored Uruguay’s only try against England at RWC 2003 in Brisbane.
  • Lemoine has made nine changes to his starting XV from their defeat by Samoa, with only Matias Dittus, Clemente Saavedra, Rodrigo Fernandez, Matias Garafulic, Domingo Saavedra and captain Martín Sigren retaining their places. 
  • Francisco Urroz (pictured) will make his Rugby World Cup debut eight years after making his test debut for Chile against Brazil in 2015.
  • Benjamin Videla represented Chile 7s at RWC Sevens 2022 scoring one try in Cape Town, and makes his starting debut in test rugby after playing 19 minutes off the bench last week against Samoa.
  • Captain Martín Sigren plays his club rugby in England with Doncaster Knights in the Champions Cup, and is their third representative across the past two Rugby World Cup tournaments after USA’s Nick Civetta and Namibia’s Wian Conradie played at RWC 2019.
  • Domingo Saavedra has made the most dominant tackles for Chile at RWC 2023 (5).

Latest News