2022 Bay of Plenty Steamers squad

2022 Bay of Plenty Steamers squad

Bay of Plenty have confirmed their 2022 squad.

The squad underwent their first pre-season hit-out last weekend at Te Awamutu, where they played Counties Manukau and Taranaki in the annual Chiefs Centurions Cup. They defeated Taranaki 50-5 in the preliminary game before falling just short in the final vs Counties 19-5.   

Mount Maunganui's Taylor Haugh, Te Puna's Luke Donaldson, and Tauranga Sports' Jacob Norris are all newly signed Steamers who played in premier men's rugby this season. Mount Maunganui defeated Te Puna 27-26 in a Blake Park thriller over the weekend.   


The squad includes 15 players developed through the Bay of Plenty Athlete Development Programme. The ADP looks to identify and develop promising young Bay of Plenty local talent with the hopes that they go on to represent the Steamers at the elite level.   


Lucas Cashmore, Nikora Broughton, Benet Kumeroa, Josh Bartlett and Veveni Lasaqa are a few examples of young men who signed after successful ventures in the ADP.   

Returning players of note are newly capped All Black Aidan Ross, Kaleb Trask, Manaaki Selby-Rickit, Emoni Narawa and Justin Sangster. Tongan national team representative Zane Kapeli will also play for the Steamers for the first time since 2019.   
The Steamers have also signed a list of exciting high calibre and international talent including former Blues standout Melani Nanai, former NZ 7's Gillies Kaka, Australian international and Waratah Joey Walton, as well as NZ 7's Rodrick Solo who is currently competing with fellow Steamer Leroy Carter in preparation for the Commonwealth Games.   


With just two weeks left until the start of the season, the Steamers will travel to Takapuna on Saturday, 30 July, for their final pre-season match in a game of three halves against North Harbour and Northland. Their season officially begins against Wellington at Sky Stadium the following weekend.  

2022 Bay of Plenty Steamers squad   
Aidan Ross (Te Puke Sports) 
Anaru Rangi (Taneatua) 
Benet Kumeroa (Rangiuru) 
Emoni Narawa   (Tauranga Sports) 
Gillies Kaka (Whakarewarewa) 
Haereiti Hetet (Mount Maunganui) 
Inga Finau (Arataki) – Vice Captain 
Jacob Norris (Tauranga Sports) 
Jamie Dobie (Mount Maunganui) 
Jeff Thwaites (Te Puna) 
Joey Walton (Greerton Marist) 
Josh Bartlett (Tauranga Sports) 
Justin Sangster (Te Puna) 
Kaleb Trask (Tauranga Sports) 
Kitiona Vai (Mount Maunganui) 
Kohan Herbert (Mount Maunganui) 
Kurt Eklund (Mount Maunganui) - Captain 
Lalomilo Lalomilo (Greerton Marist) 
Leroy Carter (Tauranga Sports) 
Lucas Cashmore (Tauranga Sports) 
Luke Donaldson (Te Puna) 
Manaaki Selby-Rickit (Mount Maunganui) 
Melani Nanai (Mount Maunganui) 
Naitoa Ah Kuoi (Whakarewarewa) 
Nic Souchon (Tauranga Sports) 
Nigel Ah Wong (Te Puke Sports) 
Nikora Broughton (Rangiuru) 
Pasilio Tosi (Greerton Marist) 
Penitoa Finau (Greerton Marist) 
Roderick Solo (Mount Maunganui) 
Sam Cane (Reporoa) 
Taylor Haugh (Mount Maunganui) 
Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (Whakarewarewa) 
Tevita Mafileo (Tauranga Sports) 
Veveni Lasaqa (Greerton Marist) 
Wharenui Hawera (Judea) 
Zane Kapeli (Waikite) 

2022 Bay of Plenty Steamers Management Group    
Head Coach: Mike Delany    
Forwards Coach: Richard Watt  
Scrum Coach: Pingi Tala'apitaga  
Attack Coach: Damian Karauna  
Skills Coach: James Porter  
Manager: Wayne Brill                                                                                                                       
Assistant Manager: Lisa Appert  
Strength & Conditioning Trainer: Thomas Stebbing     
Assistant Strength & Conditioning Trainer: Scott Joblin  
Physio: Simon Robins  
Assistant Physio: Brandon Olsen 
Doctor: Dr Sophie Thomas 
Video Analyst: Brad Morgan

Latest News