Borthwick names 28-player training squad for first Rugby World Cup preparation camp

Borthwick names 28-player training squad for first Rugby World Cup preparation camp

Steve Borthwick has named a 28-player training squad for England’s first Rugby World Cup preparation camp at the Honda England Rugby Performance centre, Pennyhill Park.
The squad, which does not include players from Gallagher Premiership semi-finalists, Leicester Tigers, Northampton Saints, Sale Sharks, and Saracens, assembled in Bagshot on Monday 12 June as England begin their preparations for the 2023 Rugby World Cup in France which starts in early-September.  
“We are excited to get into camp and begin the first phase of our preparations,” said Borthwick.  
“The World Cup is full of top-quality teams and high-quality players, and we’re relishing the challenge in front of us. That all starts today at Pennyhill Park.
“We have lots to get through before our first Summer Series fixture in August against Wales in Cardiff, so the hard work starts now. We are looking forward to it.”
28-player training squad:  
Forwards (15)

Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons)
Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins)
Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears)
Ted Hill (Bath Rugby)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Zach Mercer (Montpellier Hérault Rugby)
Beno Obano (Bath Rugby)
Tom Pearson (London Irish)
Val Rapava-Ruskin (Gloucester Rugby)
Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears)
Will Stuart (Bath Rugby)
Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby)
Jack Walker (Harlequins)
Backs (13)

Henry Arundell (London Irish)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby)
Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish)
Will Joseph (London Irish)
Ollie Lawrence (Bath Rugby)
Joe Marchant (Harlequins)
Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)
Cadan Murley (Harlequins)
Harry Randall (Bristol Bears)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Marcus Smith (Harlequins)
Ben Spencer (Bath Rugby)

Meanwhile, Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers) and Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs) will also attend the camp to continue their rehabilitation from injury.
England’s Summer Series matches begin against Wales at the Principality Stadium on Saturday 5 August (kick off 5.30pm), with a return fixture at Twickenham Stadium scheduled a week later on Saturday 12 August (kick off 5.30pm).
England then travel to Dublin to face Ireland at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday 19 August (kick off 5.30pm), before returning to Twickenham Stadium to play Fiji on Saturday 26 August (kick off 3.15pm).
Tickets are available by visiting with prices for the England v Wales fixture starting from £25 adult, and from £10 adult for England v Fiji. All of England’s matches will be broadcast live on Amazon Prime Video.
Steve Borthwick announces his 33-player Rugby World Cup squad on Monday 7 August.

Latest News