Hogg set to join Scotland’s centurion club

Hogg set to join Scotland’s centurion club

Head coach Gregor Townsend has named his Scotland squad to face Ireland in the penultimate round of the 2023 Guinness Six Nations, with Stuart Hogg named to make his 100th Scotland appearance.


Making his debut against Wales in 2012, Stuart Hogg has gone on to become Scotland’s record try scorer and on Sunday will become the fourth men’s player to win 100 caps for his country.

Jonny Gray and Jack Dempsey have also been named in the starting XV in only two changes from the loss in Paris.

Gray, who will enter Scotland’s top ten most capped players in winning his 76th, joins his brother Richie in an experienced second row with Grant Gilchrist unavailable through suspension.

No 8 Dempsey earns a first start of the championship as part of a back row reshuffle, with captain Jamie Ritchie moving to openside flanker and Matt Fagerson selected on the blindside.

Scotland’s front row again comprises hooker George Turner, who is joined by loosehead prop Pierre Schoeman and Zander Fagerson (tighthead), the same trio having lined up against Wales and France in previous matches.

For the fourth straight game, the starting back division remains unchanged, with Stuart Hogg at full-back, meanwhile Kyle Steyn and Duhan van der Merwe will line up on the wings.

Sione Tuipulotu and Huw Jones – the 2023 championship’s current leading try scorer – continue their centre partnership.

Ben White and Finn Russell are once more named at scrum-half and stand-off respectively.

Amongst the replacements, Scott Cummings is in line for his first involvement of this year’s Guinness Six Nations, with fellow forwards Fraser Brown, Simon Berghan, Jamie Bhatti and Hamish Watson also part of the matchday squad.

Ali Price, Blair Kinghorn and Chris Harris complete the 23-player selection as Scotland go in search of what would be a first Triple Crown success in 33 years.

15. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) – Vice-Captain – 99 caps
14. Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 8 caps
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 34 caps
12. Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 14 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 26 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) 68 caps
9. Ben White (London Irish) 12 caps

1. Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 19 caps
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 33 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 56 caps
4. Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 72 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) – Vice-Captain – 75 caps
6. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps
7. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – Captain – 39 caps
8. Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 7 caps


16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) 60 caps
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 28 caps
18. Simon Berghan (Glasgow Warriors) 32 caps
19. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) 23 caps
20. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) 55 caps
21. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 59 caps
22. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 41 caps
23. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 41 caps

Latest News