Pools confirmed for the 2020/21 Champions Cup Season

Pools confirmed for the 2020/21 Champions Cup Season

Champions Cup holders, Exeter Chiefs, will play against Toulouse and Glasgow Warriors in the pool stage of the 2020/21 Heineken Champions Cup following the tournament Pool Draw which was held today (Wednesday 28 October) at the Maison du Sport International in Lausanne, Switzerland.

Exeter, who lifted the trophy for the first time after a dramatic 25th anniversary final earlier this month, were drawn into Pool B and will meet the four-time tournament winners and Glasgow over four pool stage rounds on a home and away basis. Under the new format for the 2020/21 season featuring two pools of 12 clubs, reigning Guinness PRO14 champions, Leinster Rugby, will have Montpellier and Northampton Saints as their opponents in Pool A when the tournament kicks off again in December, while last season’s runners-up, Racing 92, are in Pool B where they will be up against Connacht Rugby and Harlequins.

Wasps, who were edged out by the Chiefs in the Premiership final, will meet Dragons and Montpellier in Pool A, and PRO14 finalists, Ulster Rugby, will take on Gloucester Rugby and Toulouse in Pool B.

Munster Rugby will renew their European rivalry with ASM Clermont Auvergne and Harlequins in Pool B, while Bristol Bears’ Director of Rugby, Pat Lam, will make a return to Galway when the Challenge Cup winners face off against Connacht and Clermont also in Pool B.

For the purposes of the draw, the 24 clubs which qualified from the Premiership, the PRO14 and the TOP 14 were classified into four tiers based on their performances in the knockout phases of their respective leagues, and/or on their qualifying positions in their respective league tables.

Each tier contained six clubs with Tier 1 made up of the number one and number two ranked clubs from each league, and Tier 2, the number three and number four ranked clubs from each league, and so on.

Starting with Tier 1, the clubs were either drawn or allocated into either Pool A or Pool B so that each pool contained 12 clubs with no clubs in the same tier from the same league in the same pool.

The key principles regarding the pool stage fixtures are that clubs will only play against opponents in the same pool, and clubs from the same league cannot play against one another.

The Tier 1 and Tier 4 clubs which were drawn in the same pool, but which are not from the same league, will play one another home and away over four rounds. The same principle applies to the Tier 2 and Tier 3 clubs which were drawn in the same pool, but which are not from the same league.

The exact dates of the Heineken Champions Cup pool stage fixtures and the Challenge Cup preliminary stage fixtures, including venues, kick-off times and TV coverage, will be announced as soon as possible following consultation with clubs and EPCR’s partner broadcasters.

The four highest-ranked clubs from each Heineken Champions Cup pool will qualify for the quarter-finals which will be played over two legs, and the clubs ranked from number five to number eight in each pool will qualify for the Round of 16 of the Challenge Cup.

Today’s draw, which mapped out the first steps on the journey to the 2021 Marseille finals weekend, was conducted by EPCR Chief Executive, Vincent Gaillard, and by EPCR Commercial and Brand Manager, Anya Alderslade. The event scrutineer was Lausanne-based solicitor, Jean-Guillaume Amiguet.


POOL A (with opponents in brackets)

Bordeaux-Bègles (Dragons, Northampton Saints)


Leinster Rugby (Montpellier, Northampton Saints)


Wasps (Dragons, Montpellier)


Bath Rugby (La Rochelle, Scarlets)


Edinburgh Rugby (La Rochelle, Sale Sharks)


RC Toulon (Sale Sharks, Scarlets)


La Rochelle (Bath Rugby, Edinburgh Rugby)


Sale Sharks (Edinburgh Rugby, RC Toulon)


Scarlets (Bath Rugby, RC Toulon)


Dragons (Bordeaux-Bègles, Wasps)


Montpellier (Leinster Rugby, Wasps)


Northampton Saints (Bordeaux-Bègles, Leinster Rugby)

POOL B (with opponents in brackets)


Exeter Chiefs (Glasgow Warriors, Toulouse)


Lyon (Glasgow Warriors, Gloucester Rugby)


Ulster Rugby (Gloucester Rugby, Toulouse)


Bristol Bears (ASM Clermont Auvergne, Connacht Rugby)


Munster Rugby (ASM Clermont Auvergne, Harlequins)


Racing 92 (Connacht Rugby, Harlequins)


ASM Clermont Auvergne (Bristol Bears, Munster Rugby)


Connacht Rugby (Bristol Bears, Racing 92)


Harlequins (Munster Rugby, Racing 92)


Glasgow Warriors (Exeter Chiefs, Lyon)


Gloucester Rugby (Lyon, Ulster)


Toulouse (Exeter Chiefs, Ulster Rugby)

View this post on Instagram

The pools for the 2020/21 #HeinekenChampionsCup as well as who each team will be playing at home & away 🏉

A post shared by Ultimate Rugby (@ultimaterugby) on

2020/21 season weekends


Round 1 - 11/12/13 December 2020
Round 2 - 18/19/20 December 2020
Round 3 - 15/16/17 January 2021
Round 4 - 22/23/24 January 2021
Heineken Champions Cup quarter-finals, 1st leg - 2/3/4 April 2021
Challenge Cup Round of 16 - 2/3/4 April 2021
Heineken Champions Cup quarter-finals, 2nd leg - 9/10/11 April 2021
Challenge Cup quarter-finals - 9/10/11 April 2021
Semi-finals - 30 April – 1/2 May 2021

2021 finals – Stade Vélodrome, Marseille
Challenge Cup final - Friday 21 May
Heineken Champions Cup final - Saturday 22 May

Latest News