Sale Sharks Team News

Sale Sharks Team News

Alex Sanderson makes just one change to his starting line-up for Saturday’s Gallagher Premiership final with flanker Sam Dugdale replacing the injured Ben Curry (hamstring) in the Sharks side to face Saracens at Twickenham (KO 3pm – live on BT Sport, ITV).

The Sharks Director of Rugby makes just one more change to his matchday squad for Sale’s biggest game in 17 years, with former Saracen Tom Ellis named on the replacements bench in place of Dan du Preez, who will undergo surgery on a dislocated shoulder.

The Sharks front row is unchanged from the semi-final win against Leicester, with Si McIntyre and Nick Schonert lining up either side of Akker van der Merwe, who has been on the winning side in all 11 of his Sale games this season.

Jonny Hill, who tasted a Premiership victory in his time at Exeter, and Jean-Luc du Preez line up in the second row.

And in the back-row, academy graduate Dugdale starts at openside flanker alongside Tom Curry with skipper Jono Ross, playing his last Sharks game before retirement, at number 8.

Gus Warr teams up with semi-final man of the match George Ford at half back, and in the centres, Manu Tuilagi joins the ever-present Rob du Preez, who has started Sharks’ last 36 games.

Fresh from their try-scoring heroics at the AJ Bell against the Tigers, top scorer Tom Roebuck and fellow academy graduate Arron Reed start on the wings, with Joe Carpenter at full-back.

Scotland international Ewan Ashman, who will also play his final game for the club, lines up on the replacements bench alongside England international Bevan Rodd and multi-capped Springbok Coenie Oosthuizen.

Josh Beaumont and Ellis offer further forward cover for the season finale, whilst Raffi Quirke, Sam James and Tom O’Flaherty will give a serious energy boost from the bench. 

Sale Sharks Starting XV: 

15. Joe Carpenter, 14. Tom Roebuck, 13. Rob du Preez, 12. Manu Tuilagi, 11. Arron Reed, 10. George Ford, 9. Gus Warr; 1. Simon McIntyre, 2. Akker van der Merwe, 3. Nick Schonert, 4. Jean-Luc du Preez, 5. Jonny Hill, 6. Tom Curry, 7. Sam Dugdale, 8. Jono Ross (C).


16. Ewan Ashman, 17. Bevan Rodd, 18. Coenie Oosthuizen, 19. Josh Beaumont, 20. Tom Ellis, 21. Raffi Quirke, 22. Sam James, 23. Tom O’Flaherty 

Latest News