The Rugby Championship Squads

The Rugby Championship Squads

The premier annual Southern Hemisphere competition is set to kick off next weekend with the opening game doubling up as the first 2018 Bledisloe Cup match between the Wallabies and All Blacks before the Springboks host Los Pumas.

Below are the latest team news and squads ahead of the competition.


Newly appointed head coach Mario Ledesma is yet to name his first squad since taking the reigns from Daniel Hourcade.

Rumours suggest that Ledesma is set to recall overseas-based players, particularly in the front row depart due to the lack of experience in the current squad.

The likes of Juan Figallo, Ramiro Herrara and Lucas Noguera could all receive call-ups while Facundo Isa has returned from injury and could be one of the non-front rowers to receive a recall. 


Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has announced a 36-man squad that will be further trimmed before the first test against the All Blacks.
82-Test veteran hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau has been selected after he was rested for the Ireland Series.
The squad features six uncapped players including rookie sensation Jordan Petaia. Petaia and Rebels centre Billy Meakes add cover to the midfield after injuries ruled out Test regulars Tevita Kuridrani and Samu Kerevi.
Captain Michael Hooper will continue his rehabilitation from a hamstring injury that he suffered in the final Test against Ireland while Super Rugby champion Pete Samu will re-join his Wallabies teammates.

Wallabies Squad

New Zealand 

All Black coach Steven Hanson has named an experienced squad for the competition with just two players uncapped players included in the squad.

Liam Coltman and Ngani Laumape have been included as injury for Dane Coles and Sonny Bill Williams respectively, alongside the 33-man squad.

Chiefs' halfback Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi and Crusaders' prop are the two uncapped players included with the latter having represented the side in two non-Tests. 

Another feature of the squad is the return of number eight and Captain Kieran Read, who missed the June Tests through injury, while lock Brodie Retallick also returns to the side after 11 months away from Test rugby.

Players Kane Hames, Nepo Laulala, Atu Moli and Jordan Taufua were not considered for selection due to injury.

All Blacks Squad

South Africa

SA Under-20 flyhalf Damian Willemse is one of three uncapped players included in the Springbok squad for the Rugby Championship, with the Lions quartet of Malcolm Marx (hooker), Warren Whiteley (No 8), Ross Cronje (scrumhalf) and Lionel Mapoe (centre) also back in the Bok fold for the first time this season.

Rassie Erasmus announced a squad of 35 players, with two loose forwards, the Bulls’ Marco van Staden and Cyle Brink of the Lions, joining Willemse as the uncapped players in the group.

Whiteley and the experienced Eben Etzebeth (lock) both return having recovered from long-term injuries, while Marx has shrugged off his hamstring troubles, which forced him to miss the June Internationals.

Also returning to the Springbok squad are Francois Louw, the experienced flanker who plays for English club side Bath, Lwazi Mvovo (outside back), as well Mapoe (centre) and Cronje (scrumhalf), both of whom missed the mid-year Tests because of injury. 

Players who were not considered because of injury include Damian de Allende (DHL Stormers), Warrick Gelant, Lood de Jager, Trevor Nyakane (all Vodacom Bulls), Coenie Oosthuizen and Sbu Nkosi (both Cell C Sharks).

Springboks Squad

Opening Round of Fixtures: 

Australia v New Zealand @ ANZ Stadium, Sydney 

South Africa v Argentina @ Kings Park Stadium, Durban

See the kick off time in your area, referees and more HERE

More News

Latest News