Thursday Morning Round Up

Thursday Morning Round Up
CJ Stander collects IRUPA Player's Player of the year

Stander’s eye-catching performances for Munster and Ireland this season have been recognised by his peers after he was named the the Zurich IRUPA Players’ Player of the Year for 2016.

The 25-year-old was nominated alongside Rory Best, Robbie Henshaw  and Jack McGrath to claim the individual award.

“I’m delighted to win this award. Receiving recognition from my peers is the ultimate accolade,” Stander said.

“I will remember this season fondly, from winning my first cap, to scoring my first international try and ultimately winning this award”.

The South African-born player has been a leading figure in an often disappointing season for Munster and his provincial form – he was also named Munster’s Player of the Year in 2015.

He was subsequently appointed Munster captain following injury to Peter O’Mahony and has been the stand-out player for his province this season.

Poitrenaud to quit Toulouse and France

Former France international Clement Poitrenaud has retired after Toulouse denied him a new contract.

"The club decided against offering me a contract extension and so I decided to end my career at Stade Toulouse because I cannot see myself playing for another club in France or in Europe," Poitrenaud said.

He added that despite the nagging ankle injury that sidelined him this season when he started in just seven games overall, his reason for stopping playing was not physical and that he intended to play Pro Rugby in the United States in 2017.

"I wanted to stay another year but the club didn't want it," said Poitrenaud.

"It was going to have to stop at one point or another."

The 33-year-old concluded that he would remain in close contact with Toulouse and that he was in talks with them over a new project he could not yet disclose.

Dean Ryan confirms 12 players to leave Worcester Warriors

The clubs' director of rugby, Dean Ryan, has confirmed that there will be 12 players leaving Sixways at the end of the season.

Scrum-halves Charlie Mulchrone of Harlequins and JB Bruzulier of Nevers, and centres Heath Stevens of London Welsh and Andy Symons of London Irish have already found other clubs following the cut, with fowards Darren O'Shea of Munster and Ben Sowrey of Newcastle also motioning for the door.

The club has already said that long-serving centre Alex Grove will go.

Concluding the departing 12 are:

Ravai Fatiaki
Dan George
Joe Rees
Mat Gilbert
Dan Sanderson

"I'd like to go on record in thanking all the departing players for theirs efforts during their time at the club," said Ryan.

More News

Latest News