AOB returns as Andrew makes debut

AOB returns as Andrew makes debut

Fly half Angus O’Brien makes his comeback and wing Oli Andrew his senior debut as Dragons RFC tackle Glasgow Warriors in Round 10 of the BKT United Rugby Championship on Saturday at Scotstoun Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm).

O’Brien - out of action since suffering a fractured arm against Munster in December – is one of eight changes made by Head Coach Dai Flanagan for the trip to Scotland.

Dragons Academy product Oli Andrew will make his senior club debut after being named in a reshaped back line.

Centre Aneurin Owen joins forces with captain Steff Hughes in midfield. Hooker James Benjamin and prop Chris Coleman pack down up front, while Sean Lonsdale, young flanker George Young and Dan Lydiate make up a new-look back row.

Brodie Coghlan and Aki Seiuli, who could face his former club, and Barny Langton-Cryer are named among the replacements. Hooker Sam Scarfe could make his debut from the bench while talented young scrum half Che Hope could also make his first appearance of the season.

Flanagan, who will be without 21 players for the clash due to injury or international call-ups, said: “Any trip to Scotstoun is tough. Glasgow are a well-coached team and when they lose an international team they bring another one in to replace them.

“They have a lot of experienced players they can bring in for this period and that means they will be a real test.

“We have a lengthy injury list, without making excuses, but that brings opportunity and exposure to players who can go and grab the chance,” he added.

“We’ll have players involved this weekend for the first time. I’m excited to see them play and we will be all out attack and go after every moment.

“It’s good to have Angus back and get can’t wait for the weekend. He’s like an Energizer bunny around the place and it’ll be good to see him back out on the park for us.”

Dragons RFC: Cai Evans (Cowbridge RFC), Jared Rosser (Pontypool United RFC, Steff Hughes (c) (Llanelli Wanderers), Aneurin Owen (Newport High School Old Boys RFC), Oli Andrew (Caerleon RFC), Angus O’Brien (Caerleon RFC), Dane Blacker (Ynysybwl RFC); Rhodri Jones (Machynlleth RFC), James Benjamin (Whiteheads RFC), Chris Coleman (Garndiffaith RFC), Joe Davies (Caldicot RFC), Matthew Screech (Porth Harlequins), Sean Lonsdale (Rhyl RFC),George Young (Newport High School Old Boys RFC) , Dan Lydiate (Rhayader RFC)

Replacements: Brodie Coghlan (Newport High School Old Boys RFC), Aki Seiuli (Taieri Eels RFC), Luke Yendle (Caerphilly RFC), Barny Langton-Cryer (Cowbridge RFC), Sam Scarfe (Penallta RFC), Che Hope (Blackwood RFC), Will Reed (Cwmbran RFC), Joe Westwood (Blackwood RFC)

Unavailable (15): Gonzalo Bertranou (knee), Ben Carter (hamstring), Jack Dixon (knock), Lloyd Fairbrother (calf), Ollie Griffiths (knock), Ashton Hewitt (knee), Harri Keddie (elbow), George Nott (shoulder), Sio Tomkinson (neck), David Richards (hamstring), Josh Reynolds (pec), Bradley Roberts (back), Rhodri Williams (knock), Jordan Williams (knock), Ryan Woodman (thumb)

International (6): Harri Ackerman (Wales U20s), Taine Basham, Leon Brown, Elliot Dee, Rio Dyer, Aaron Wainwright (all Wales).

Latest News