Currie Cup Round Two Preview

Currie Cup Round Two Preview

South Africa's oldest provincial rugby competition continues this weekend with the Golden Lions, Sharks and Western Province all kicking off their campaigns this week after having a bye in round one.


Golden Lions vs Griquas

New Lions head coach Ivan van Rooyen has handed a number of youngsters their debuts against Griquas at Ellis Park this weekend.

Although they have selected a young side there are still four Springboks (Andries Coetzee, Courtnall Skosan, Ross Cronjé and Marvin Orie) in the 23.

Griquas were excellent in the Supersport Rugby Challenge Cup but were defeated by an impressive Pumas side last Friday.



Golden Lions – 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Jan-Louis la Grange, 12 Manni Rass, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Shaun Reynolds, 9 Ross Cronjé, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Len Massyn, 6 James Venter, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Rhyno Herbst, 3 Johannes Jonker, 2 Corné Fourie, 1 Sti Sithole.
Subs: 16 HP van Schoor, 17 Jacobie Adriaanse, 18 JP Steenkamp, 19 Vincent Tshituka, 20 Dillon Smit, 21 Tyrone Green, 22 Wandisile Simelane.

Griquas – 15 Eric Zana, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Kyle Steyn (c), 12 Christopher Bosch, 11 AJ Coertzen , 10 George Whitehead, 9 Christiaan Meyer, 8 Conway Pretorius, 7 Sias Koen, 6 Wendal Wehr, 5 Pieter van Vuren, 4 Sintu Manjezi, 3 Nicolaas Oosthuizen, 2 Khwezi Mkhafu, 1 Devon Martinus.
Subs: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Ruan Kramer, 18 Wandile Putuma, 19 Eital Bredenkamp, 20 Izak Burger, 21 Jonathan Janse van Rensburg, 22 Andre Swarts.


Sharks vs Blue Bulls

The Bulls produced a superb performance against Free State last week clinching a 34-12 bonus-point victory but will be facing a different beast in the Sharks.

The Sharks boast the experience of 7 test players in six Springboks and a Namibian International.

Expect big performances from Curwin Bosch, Robert du Preez, Dan du Preez and Jesse Kriel who will all be looking to force their way into the Bok set up.


Sharks –15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Dan du Preez, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Wian Vosloo, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Gideon Koegelenberg, 3 John-Hubert Meyer, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle (c), 1 Juan Schoeman.
Subs: 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Khutha Mchunu, 18 Andrew Evans, 19 Lubabalo Mthembu, 20 Cameron Wright, 21 Johan Deysel, 22 Aphelele Fassi.

Blue Bulls – 15 Divan Rossouw, 14 Jade Stighlinh, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Johnny Kotze, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 André Warner, 8  Hanro Liebenberg (c), 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Ruan Steenkamp, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Hendré Stassen, 3 Conrad van Vuuren, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Matthys Basson.
Subs: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 18 Eli Snyman, 19 Jano Venter, 20 Raegan Oranje, 21 Tony Jantjies, 22 JT Jackson.

Western Province vs Free State Cheetahs

Cheetahs coach Franco Smith has one final chance to field a full strength side as his side prepare for the PRO14 season which kicks off next week.

With the Currie Cup shorter compared to last year, the Cheetahs will need a victory if they plan to make the playoffs and are up against the defending champions at home.

John Dobson's side head into the clash off the back of a dissapointing pre-season loss to Montpellier and have the likes of Hooker Ramone Samuels, flank Johan du Toit and flyhalf Jean-Luc du Plessis all likely to miss the entire season.

Dillyn Leyds will lead the side this season that, despite the injuries, still have powerful squad with the abilitly to win retain the title.


Western Province – 15 SP Marais, 14 JJ Engelbrecht, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan Kriel, 11Dillyn Leyds (c), 10 Josh Stander, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Ali Vermaak.
Subs: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Ernst van Rhyn, 20 Herschel Jantjies, 21 Dan du Plessis, 22 Sergeal Petersen.

Free State Cheetahs – 15 Malcolm Jaer, 14 Rabz Maxwane, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Nico Lee, 11 William Small-Smith, 10 Louis Fouche, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Aidon Davis, 7 Oupa Mohoje (c), 6 Jasper Wiese, 5 Dennis Visser, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Günther Janse van Vuuren, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ox Nche.
Subs: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Erich de Jager, 18 Luan de Bruin, 19 Stephan Malan, 20 Junior Pokomela, 21 Shaun Venter, 22 Ernst Stapelberg.

Latest News