Ewels hits 150 as Bath Rugby paint the town red

Ewels hits 150 as Bath Rugby paint the town red

The Investec Champions Cup is here and Johann van Graan has named his side to take on Ulster Rugby as they head to The Rec this Saturday.

Dorset-born Charlie Ewels will reach his 150th appearance in the Bath badge this weekend, celebrating the huge achievement in front of The Rec faithful.

Joining him in the pack, van Graan retains his forwards set-up from the emphatic win over Exeter Chiefs last week, seeing Beno Obano, Tom Dunn and Will Stuart pack down in the front row.

Ewels will be paired with Elliott Stooke at lock, who returned to the hoops of Bath Rugby last weekend.

Miles Reid, Sam Underhill and Alfie Barbeary will all run out in red after a hugely impressive performance last weekend, in which Underhill was named Player of the Match and Barbeary scored two tries.

Ben Spencer and Finn Russell are named again as half-backs, seeing Cameron Redpath take the inside centre spot to accompany a returning Ollie Lawrence at 13. This fixture will see Redpath get his 50th appearance for Bath Rugby.

Will Muir, Joe Cokanasiga and Matt Gallagher complete the back line, seeing just one change in van Graan's starting XV.

Coming in on the bench, Thomas du Toit is back for Bath, alongside Juan Schoeman and former-Ulsterman Niall Annett.

GJ van Velze and Jaco Coetzee are again named as replacement loose forwards.

Louis Schreuder, Orlando Bailey and Will Butt complete the 5-3 bench split, with Butt having scored within a minute of entering the pitch last weekend.

Bath Rugby: 1 Beno Obano, 2 Tom Dunn, 3 Will Stuart, 4 Elliott Stooke, 5 Charlie Ewels (150), 6 Miles Reid, 7 Sam Underhill, 8 Alfie Barbeary, 9 Ben Spencer (c), 10 Finn Russell, 11 Will Muir, 12 Cameron Redpath, 13 Ollie Lawrence, 14 Joe Cokanasiga, 15 Matt Gallagher

Replacements: 16 Niall Annett, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Thomas du Toit, 19 GJ van Velze, 20 Jaco Coetzee, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22, Orlando Bailey, 23 Will Butt

Ulster Rugby: 1 Steven Kitshoff, 2 Tom Stewart, 3 Tom O'Toole, 4 Alan O'Connor, 5 Iain Henderson (c), 6 Dave Ewers, 7 Nick Timoney, 8 James McNabney, 9 Nathan Doak, 10 Billy Burns, 11 Jacob Stockdale, 12 Stuart McCloskey, 13 James Hulme, 14 Rob Baloucoune, 15 Stewart Moore

Replacements: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Andrew Warwick, 18 Marty Moore, 19 Kieran Treadwell, 20 Matty Rea, 21 John Cooney, 22 Jake Flannery, 23 Mike Lowry

Latest News