Glasgow make no changes for semi-final

Glasgow make no changes for semi-final

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Franco Smith has named an unchanged starting XV for tomorrow night’s semi-final showdown in Limerick, as his side take on top seeds Munster for a place in the 2023/24 BKT United Rugby Championship Grand Final.

A first league semi-final since 2019 awaits the Warriors at Thomond Park tomorrow night, Smith’s men having progressed to the final four with a 27-10 victory over the DHL Stormers last weekend.

Indeed, 22 of the matchday 23 to feature in last Saturday’s win are retained for tomorrow night’s clash, Murphy Walker’s inclusion amongst the replacements the only alteration as he comes in for Nathan McBeth.

The selection means that once more an all-international pack will take to the field for the opening kick-off, with Zander Fagerson – after an impressive 80-minute display last weekend – anchoring the front-row alongside Jamie Bhatti and Johnny Matthews.

Scott Cummings and Richie Gray continue their partnership in the engine room, the former having also been named in the Scotland summer tour squad announced earlier this week.

Jack Dempsey retains the number eight jersey after a barnstorming display against the Stormers last time out, the Scotland international once again flanked by Matt Fagerson and Rory Darge for the trip to Thomond Park.

Behind the scrum, Tom Jordan partners George Horne in the half-backs, the latter having turned in a Player of the Match-winning display in front of the Warrior Nation to help guide his team to the semi-finals.

Sione Tuipulotu starts at inside centre after beating more defenders than any other Warrior last weekend, with Huw Jones lining up outside him in the 13 jersey.

Josh McKay starts at full-back, as Sebastian Cancelliere and captain Kyle Steyn – fresh from making more metres than anyone else with ball in hand at Scotstoun last Saturday – complete the starting XV.

Walker’s inclusion on the bench sees Oli Kebble shift to the number 17 shirt, George Turner completing the front-row cover after making his 100th appearance for the club last weekend.

Max Williamson retains his place in the matchday 23 in the week he was named in a senior Scotland squad for the first time, with Euan Ferrie and Henco Venter completing a six-two split of forwards and backs.

The back-line is covered by Jamie Dobie – who started on the wing in last season’s victory over Munster at Thomond Park – and Ross Thompson, whose try on his 50th outing for Glasgow Warriors sealed the win last Saturday night.

Speaking following selection, Head Coach Smith told “Munster are one of the most consistent teams in the league, and time and time again they have shown that they know what it takes to win on the biggest stage.

“They are a well-drilled side who possess a real physical edge, that we know will compete for everything when given the chance.

“They also possess one of the strongest home records in the competition that they will be looking to defend tomorrow night, and we know we will have to be at our best to meet their challenge.”

Glasgow Warriors team to face Munster at Thomond Park, Saturday 15 June, kick-off 6pm. You can watch the match live on Premier Sports, or follow the action in our Live Match Centre at

1 Jamie Bhatti (104)
2 Johnny Matthews (71)
3 Zander Fagerson (147)
4 Scott Cummings (124)
5 Richie Gray (113)
6 Matt Fagerson (109)
7 Rory Darge (46)
8 Jack Dempsey (48)

9 George Horne (117)
10 Tom Jordan (48)
11 Kyle Steyn (C) (75)
12 Sione Tuipulotu (53)
13 Huw Jones (69)
14 Sebastian Cancelliere (36)
15 Josh McKay (47)


16 George Turner (100)
17 Oli Kebble (103)
18 Murphy Walker (13)
19 Max Williamson (18)
20 Euan Ferrie (19)
21 Henco Venter (19)
22 Jamie Dobie (66)
23 Ross Thompson (50)

Unavailable for selection: Fraser Brown (knee), Allan Dell (arm), JP du Preez (knee), Nathan McBeth (head), Ally Miller (calf), Alex Samuel (head), Ollie Smith (knee), Lucio Sordoni (foot), Sione Vailanu (knee).

Latest News