Joe Hawkins to make his Wales senior debut against Australia

Joe Hawkins to make his Wales senior debut against Australia

Head coach Wayne Pivac has named the Wales senior men’s team to play Australia in the fourth and final round of the Autumn Nations Series.


Wales face the Wallabies at Principality Stadium on Saturday ( KO 3.15pm). The match is live on Prime Video, with English and Welsh broadcasts available. 

Osprey Joe Hawkins will win his first senior men’s international cap, coming in at inside centre for Owen Watkin who has been ruled out of the match due to a knee injury. George North partners Hawkins in the Wales midfield.

Leigh Halfpenny, named at full back, makes his first start for Wales since the summer of 2021 having featured as a replacement last weekend. Rio Dyer and Alex Cuthbert are selected on the wings.

Taulupe Faletau returns to the Wales XV at No. 8 and will make his 100th Test appearance (95th for Wales and five Lions). Joining him in the back row are Jac Morgan (blind-side flanker) and captain Justin Tipuric (open-side flanker).

Alun Wyn Jones is also named in the starting line-up, alongside Adam Beard in the Wales second row. Gareth Thomas (loose-head prop), Ken Owens (hooker) and Dillon Lewis (tight-head prop) continue in the front row.

Gareth Anscombe at fly half starts his third match this November. Tomos Williams is at scrum half.

On the Wales bench the front row cover is provided by Ryan Elias (hooker), Rhodri Jones (loose-head prop) and Tomas Francis (tight-head prop). Ben Carter and Josh Macleod, who made his senior international debut against Georgia, are the other replacement forwards.

Wales senior men’s team to play Australia in the Autumn Nations Series Saturday 26 November, KO 3.15pm GMT. Live on Prime Video (English and Welsh broadcasts) with highlights on S4C.

15. Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets – 97 caps)
14. Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 54 caps)
13. George North (Ospreys – 108 caps)
12. Joe Hawkins (Ospreys – uncapped)
11. Rio Dyer (Dragons – 2 caps)
10. Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys – 34 caps)
9. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 39 caps)
1. Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 16 caps)
2. Ken Owens (Scarlets – 85 caps)
3. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 44 caps)
4. Adam Beard (Ospreys – 40 caps)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 154 caps)
6. Jac Morgan (Ospreys – 5 caps)
7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys – 88 caps) captain
8. Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 94 caps)

16. Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 32 caps)
17. Rhodri Jones (Dragons – 23 caps)
18. Tomas Francis (Ospreys – 66 caps)
19. Ben Carter (Dragons – 8 caps)
20. Josh Macleod (Scarlets – 1 cap)
21. Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 15 caps)
22. Rhys Priestland (Cardiff Rugby – 55 caps)
23. Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 43 caps)

Latest News