Lonergan to captain Australia A against Portugal

Lonergan to captain Australia A against Portugal

Australia A coach Jason Gilmore has confirmed a strong line-up to face Portugal in Stade Jules-Ladoumègue in Massy.

Brumbies scrumhalf Ryan Lonergan will lead the side, joined by experienced flyhalf Bernard Foley in the halves.

Foley is one of four capped Wallabies in the backline, with Reds duo James O'Connor and Filipo Daugunu reforming their centre partnerships.

Tom Wright will slot in at fullback, eager to make a statement against Portugal, who are in the Wallabies' pool at the Rugby World Cup.

Standout wingers and Sevens converts Dylan Pietsch and Lachie Anderson complete the backline on the wing.

Pete Samu will start at openside flanker after he was omitted from the Wallabies squad.

He forms an imposing back-row alongside Waratahs enforcer Lachie Swinton and Reds number eight Seru Uru.

Rebels young gun Josh Canham has earned a start in the second row, partnering Cadeyrn Neville.

Recent Wallabies call-up Tom Lambert will form the front-row, joined by Brumby Lachlan Lonergan and Rebels star Sam Talakai.

The bench is stacked with experience, with five players having played for the Wallabies.

This includes the likes of Folau Fainga'a, Matt Gibbon, Darcy Swain, Ned Hanigan and Hunter Paisami.

Reds young gun Josh Flook has also been included, with Brumbies prop Rhys Van Nek and Rebels half James Tuttle completing the side.

The match will not be broadcast currently, with results to be communicated via official channels.

Australia A vs. Portugal

Stade Jules-Ladoumègue, Massy, 8:00pm Saturday 26 August (4:00am AEST Sunday 27 August)

*caps refer Wallabies Tests 1. Tom Lambert, NSW Waratahs - 0 caps

2. Lachlan Lonergan, ACT Brumbies - 8 caps

3. Sam Talakai, Melbourne Rebels - 1 cap

4. Josh Canham, Melbourne Rebels - 0 caps

5. Cadeyrn Neville, ACT Brumbies - 8 caps

6. Lachlan Swinton, NSW Waratahs - 4 caps

7. Pete Samu, ACT Brumbies - 33 caps

8. Seru Uru, QLD Reds - 0 caps

9. Ryan Lonergan, ACT Brumbies (c) - 0 caps

10. Bernard Foley, Japan - 76 caps

11. Dylan Pietsch, NSW Waratahs - 0 caps

12. James O'Connor, QLD Reds - 72 caps

13. Filipo Daugunu, QLD Reds - 7 caps

14. Lachlan Anderson, Melbourne Rebels - 0 caps

15. Tom Wright, ACT Brumbies - 23 caps


16. Folau Fainga'a, Western Force - 38 caps

17. Matt Gibbon, Melbourne Rebels - 5 caps

18. Rhys Van Nek, ACT Brumbies - 0 caps

19. Darcy Swain, ACT Brumbies - 17 caps

20. Ned Hanigan, NSW Waratahs - 28 caps

21. James Tuttle, Melbourne Rebels - 0 caps

22. Hunter Paisami, QLD Reds - 24 caps

23. Josh Flook, QLD Reds - 0 caps

Latest News