Muir reaches half century in first game of 2024

Muir reaches half century in first game of 2024

Johann van Graan has named his side to take on Gloucester Rugby as the Blue, Black and White prepare for their first game of 2024.

Returning to the front row, Beno Obano and Tom Dunn fill the first two spots.

Will Stuart retains his jersey from the New Year’s Eve clash against Leicester Tigers last weekend.

In the second row, Elliott Stooke and Charlie Ewels lock in to rekindle their familiar partnership.

GJ van Velze takes the blindside spot, with Miles Reid on the open side.

Jaco Coetzee completes the forwards set-up, fresh from making more dominant tackles than any other player in Round 10.

Ben Spencer reclaims his captaincy armband, partnered by Finn Russell at 10.

Will Muir gets his 50th appearance in Blue, Black and White after becoming a regular feature on the left wing since returning from injury at the start of the season.

Joe Cokanasiga mans the right wing ready for a match-up with Gloucester’s backline.

Internationals Cameron Redpath and Ollie Lawrence pair up in the centre.

Completing the starting XV, Tom de Glanville also retains his spot, moving across to fullback.

On the bench, van Graan chooses his bomb squad in the form of Thomas du Toit, Niall Annett and Archie Griffin.

Sam Underhill is also named replacement after a short spell on the sidelines.

Alfie Barbeary and Quinn Roux complete the replacement forwards, with Roux having made the most tackles by any player in last week’s Tigers fixture.

Performing well since their transition into the Premiership, Tom Carr-Smith and Sam Harris are named as replacement backs in a 6-2 bench split.

Bath Rugby: 1 Beno Obano, 2 Tom Dunn, 3 Will Stuart, 4 Elliott Stooke, 5 Charlie Ewels, 6 GJ van Velze, 7 Miles Reid, 8 Jaco Coetzee, 9 Ben Spencer ©, 10 Finn Russell, 11 Will Muir (50), 12 Cameron Redpath, 13 Ollie Lawrence, 14 Joe Cokanasiga, 15 Tom de Glanville

Replacements: 16 Niall Annett, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Archie Griffin, 19 Quinn Roux, 20 Alfie Barbeary, 21 Tom Carr-Smith, 22 Sam Harris, 23 Sam Underhill

Gloucester Rugby: 1 Mayco Vivas, 2 George McGuigan, 3 Fraser Balmain, 4 Freddie Clarke, 5 Matias Alemanno, 6 Ruan Ackermann, 7 Lewis Ludlow (c), 8 Zach Mercer, 9 Caolan Englefield, 10 Adam Hastings, 11 Ollie Thorley, 12 Seb Atkinson, 13 Chris Harris, 14 Jonny May, 15 Santi Carreras

ReplacementsL: 16 Seb Blake, 17 Jamal Ford-Robinson, 18 Kirill Gotovtsev, 19 Cam Jordan, 20 Jack Clement, 21 Stephen Varney, 22 Max Llewellyn, 23 Louis Rees-Zammit

Referee: Christophe Ridley
Assistant referees: Dan Jones & Gareth Holsgrove
TMO: Rowan Kitt

Latest News