Officials miss 'dirty' clearout on Wales Captain Alun-Wyn Jones

Officials miss 'dirty' clearout on Wales Captain Alun-Wyn Jones

Wales captain Alun Wyn Jones copped an elbow to the face during a breakdown in the first half of Wales' defeat to France on Saturday.

France lock Bernard Le Roux could face a ban after footage was shown of him clearing out Jones around the neck while also elbowing Alun Wyn Jones in the face in what was dubbed a "dirty" incident.


The incident went unnoticed by referee Karl Dickson and his TMO but footage of the incident was picked up on Twitter.



Although Le Roux may have got away with it in the match, he may still face a sanction if the citing commissioner reports the incident.


Gareth Thomas commented on the incident on ITV saying: "To me, he comes down with a forearm into his face.

"As Alun Wyn Jones’ head gets tilted to the floor, the right elbow comes in and onto his face."

James Hook responded saying: "There is definitely intent there. That right elbow, there’s intent there. He knows exactly what he’s doing."

Wayne Pivac said he had not seen the incident and declined to comment in his post-match press conference while Alun Wyn Jones batted away the opportunity to address the incident telling S4C: "That's for other people to look at.

"I'm just focusing on the game."

If Le Roux is sanctioned, he will likely miss France's crunch clash with Ireland next week as Andy Farrell's men go in search of a full house of points which would hand them the title.

More News

Latest News