Portia Woodman is one of six players returning to the New Zealand starting line-up

Portia Woodman is one of six players returning to the New Zealand starting line-up

Portia Woodman scored two tries in the Pool A meeting with Wales and is one of six players returning to the New Zealand starting line-up for their quarter-final in Whangārei on 29 October.

New Zealand director of rugby Wayne Smith has named his team for their Rugby World Cup 2021 quarter-final against Wales at Northland Events Centre on 29 October.

1. Phillipa Love
2. Georgia Ponsonby
3. Amy Rule
4. Maiakawanakaulani Roos
5. Chelsea Bremner
6. Alana Bremner
7. Sarah Hirini
8. Liana Mikaele-Tu'u
9. Kendra Cocksedge
10. Ruahei Demant (captain)
11. Ayesha Leti-l'iga
12. Theresa Fitzpatrick
13. Stacey Fluhler
14. Portia Woodman
15. Ruby Tui

16. Luka Connor
17. Krystal Murray
18. Santo Taumata
19. Joanah Ngan-Woo
20. Kennedy Simon
21. Ariana Bayler
22. Hazel Tubic
23. Renee Holmes

  • Wayne Smith has made six personnel and one positional change to his starting line-up from the 57-0 victory over Scotland
  • The only changes to the forward pack come in the second row where Chelsea Bremner comes in to partner Maiakawanakaulani Roos, who will wear four on her back this weekend
  • Kendra Cocksedge and captain Ruahei Demant renew their half-back pairing last seen in the opening win over Australia
  • Stacey Fluhler returns to partner Theresa Fitzpatrick in midfield, having missed the last two matches through injury
  • Two further Tokyo 2020 Olympic gold medallists return with Portia Woodman and Ruby Tui lining up on the right wing and at full-back, completing a formidable back three with Ayesha Leti-I’iga
  • Seven of the starting line-up also started the Pool A encounter with Wales, while Sarah Hirini and Kendra Cocksedge both came off the bench at Waitakere Stadium on 16 October
  • Co-captain Kennedy Simon is named in a match-day squad for the first time at RWC 2021, the flanker taking a place on the bench after recovering from injury
  • The Black Ferns ran out 56-12 winners when the sides met in Pool A, Portia Woodman and teenager Sylvia Brunt each scoring two of their side’s 10 tries
  • This the fifth meeting between the teams with all taking place at a Rugby World Cup. New Zealand have won them all – 24-6 in 1991, 41-8 in 2010, 63-7 in 2014 and 44-12 in 2017
  • New Zealand are seeking a 12th consecutive victory on the Rugby World Cup stage and are unbeaten in the Wayne Smith era with nine wins in 2022
  • Only once have New Zealand failed to reach the semi-finals in seven previous tournaments played – in 2014 when they finished fifth after losing to Ireland in the pool phase

Latest News