Super Rugby Preview: Chiefs v Reds

Super Rugby Preview: Chiefs v Reds

The Super Rugby Pacific Quarter Finals kick off on the evening of Friday 7 June with the Chiefs welcoming the Queensland Reds to FMG Stadium Waikato (5.05PM AEST / 7.05PM NZST).

The action continues on Saturday 8 June with the table-topping Hurricanes taking on the Rebels at Sky Stadium in Wellington (2.35PM AEST / 4.35PM NZST), followed by the Blues going head-to-head with the Fijian Drua at Eden Park in Auckland (5.05PM AEST / 7.05PM NZST).

The ACT Brumbies and Highlanders will then wrap up the opening weekend of the Super Rugby Pacific Quarter Finals as they do battle at GIO Stadium in Canberra (7.35PM AEST / 9.35PM NZST).

In a dramatic closing chapter to the regular season on Saturday, the Fijian Drua forced their way into the top eight by beating the Melbourne Rebels, while a bonus point win over the Highlanders saw the Hurricanes sneak past the Blues to claim top spot on the ladder.

A new Super Rugby Pacific champion will be crowned in 2024 with back-to-back defending champions the Crusaders finishing the season in ninth place and missing the Super Rugby Finals for the first time since 2015.

The rules for the Super Rugby Pacific Finals series dictate the following match schedules:

  • Quarterfinals – 1 v 8, 2 v 7, 3 v 6 and 4 v 5 with the top-ranked team hosting
  • Semi-Finals – top-ranked quarter-final winner hosts against lowest-ranked quarter-final winner & 2nd highest ranked quarterfinal winner hosts 3rd highest ranked winner
  • Final – top-ranked semi-final winner hosts the other semi-final winner.

The Quarter Final rankings are:

  1. Hurricanes
  2. Blues
  3. ACT Brumbies
  4. Chiefs
  5. Queensland Reds
  6. Highlanders
  7. Fijian Drua
  8. Melbourne Rebels


Friday June 7: FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton (19:05 - Local)

CHIEFS (1-15): Aidan Ross, Samisoni Taukei'aho, George Dyer, Jimmy Tupou, Tupou Vaa'i, Samipeni Finau, Luke Jacobson (c), Wallace Sititi, Cortez Ratima, Damian McKenzie, Etene Nanai Seturo, Rameka Poihipi, Anton Lienert-Brown, Emoni Narawa, Shaun Stevenson

RESERVES:  Bradley Slater, Jared Proffit, Reuben O'Neill, Naitoa Ah Kuoi, Simon Parker, Xavier Roe, Quinn Tupaea, Daniel Rona

REDS (1-15): Alex Hodgman, Matt Faessler, Jeffrey Toomaga-Allen, Seru Uru, Ryan Smith, Liam Wright (co-c), Fraser McReight, John Bryant, Tate McDermott (co-c), Tom Lynagh, Mac Grealy, Hunter Paisami, Josh Flook, Tim Ryan, Jock Campbell

RESERVES: Josh Nasser, Sef Fa'agase, Zane Nonggorr, Connor Vest, Joe Brial, Kalani Thomas, Lawson Creighton, Taj Annan

Referee: Ben O'Keeffe

Assistant Referees: Stu Curran, Jackson Henshaw

Latest News