Cubelli and Isa handed starts - Argentina name team to play Wales in quarter-final

Cubelli and Isa handed starts - Argentina name team to play Wales in quarter-final

Scrum-half Tomás Cubelli has replaced Gonzalo Bertranou and Facundo Isa (pictured) has come in to Los Pumas' back-row for the injured Pablo Matera as Argentina head coach Michael Cheika makes two changes to his starting XV for the quarter-final against Wales on Saturday in Marseille.

1 Thomas Gallo
2 Julian Montoya (c)
3 Francisco Gómez Kodela
4 Guido Petti Pagadizabal
5 Tomas Lavanini
6 Juan Martin Gonzalez
7 Marcos Kremer
8 Facundo Isa
9 Tomas Cubelli
10 Santiago Carreras
11 Mateo Carreras
12 Santiago Chocobares
13 Lucio Cinti
14 Emiliano Boffelli
15 Juan Cruz Mallia

16 Agustín Creevy
17 Joel Sclavi
18 Eduardo Bello
19 Matias Alemanno
20 Rodrigo Bruni
21 Lautaro Bazan Velez
22 Nicolas Sanchez
23 Matías Moroni

  • Marcos Kremer and Juan Martin Gonzalez are the only two Los Pumas players to have started every match at RWC 2023.
  • Tomás Cubelli has played just 110 minutes of test rugby in 2023, with starts against Spain and Chile, and a cap off the bench against Samoa. This will be only his second start in a Rugby World Cup knock-out match after the bronze-final in 2015. He played both the quarter-final and semi-final off the bench eight years ago. 
  • Facundo Isa earns his third start of the year, and first in a Rugby World Cup knock-out match after playing the quarter-, semi- and bronze-final in 2015 off the bench.
  • There are nine survivors from the last Rugby World Cup quarter-final Los Pumas played in 2015 against Ireland - Matías Alemanno, Agustín Creevy, Tomás Cubelli, Facundo Isa, Tomas Lavanini, Julián Montoya, Matías Moroni, Guido Petti and Nicolás Sanchez. 
  • Sanchez has not missed a kick at goal at RWC 2023, converting all 10 attempts. 
  • Agustín Creevy did not miss a tackle against Wales in 2022, completing a team-high 14 attempts in Cardiff. At 38 years and 213 days old, he is the third oldest player to take the field at this tournament after Namibian PJ van Lill (39 years and 297 days against Uruguay) and Romanian Florin Surugiu (38 years and 302 days against Tonga), and the fifth oldest in Rugby World Cup history.

Latest News