Super Rugby Countdown: 23 Past Winners

Super Rugby Countdown: 23 Past Winners

With just 23 days left until the new Super Rugby season kicks off, we take a look at the 23 clubs who lifted the trophy since the competition's inception in 1993.

1996 Blues

The Auckland Blues and Natal Sharks were the finalists for the first Super 12 competion, with the Blues winning 45 – 21.

"If we hadn’t won at Durban,’ said then coach Graham Henry. "We would have been playing our sem-final back there seven days later, and I don’t believe we would have won the title in those circumstances.’ The 30-23 win in Durban was a masterpiece of strategic planning, which carried over into the final at Eden Park.

1997 Blues

Phil Gifford: The best four Kiwi teams in Super Rugby history - NZ Herald

The Auckland Blues yet again proved their dominance in the competion by winning their second Super 12 title.

They went against the Brumbies to clinch the title in 23-7 thriller.

1998 Crusaders

After finishing dead-last in the inaugural season of Super Rugby in 1996, the Crusaders underwent a remarkable turnaround to finish sixth in 1997 before being crowned champions for the first time in 1998.

In a blockbuster final at Eden Park, the Crusaders scored late through James Kerr to defeat the two-time champions the Blues by a margin of 20-13. Since winning their first crown in 1998, the Crusaders have become the most successful team in Super Rugby history with 10 title wins.

1999 Crusaders

2000 Crusaders

2001 Brumbies

The Brumbies defeated South Africa’s Sharks 36-6 in 2001 before winning the competition for the second time on May 22, 2004 with a 47-38 victory over the Crusaders of New Zealand’s South Island.

2002 Crusaders

2003 Blues

Rugby: Recalling the 2003 Super Rugby season - Where the Blues reigned  supreme - NZ Herald

The Blues edged the Crusaders 21-17 in front of a packed house at Eden Park to win their third Super Rugby crown. 

2004 Brumbies

2005 & 2006 Crusaders

After the Super 12 became the Super 14 the Crusaders continued with their dominance of Southern Hemisphere rugby by winning the inaugaral Super 14.

2007 Bulls

The Final of the 2007 Super 14 season took place on 19 May 2007 at ABSA Stadium in Durban, South Africa. The match was won by the Bulls 20 points to 19 over their hosts the Sharks.

2008 Crusaders

The Crusaders defeated the Hurricanes 33–22 with three tries each, and the Waratahs defeated the Sharks 28–13. The Crusaders eventually prevailed in a toughly fought final, 20–12.

2009 Bulls

2010 Bulls

2011 Queensland Reds

2012 Chiefs

2013 Chiefs

2014 NSW Waratahs

2015 Highlanders

2016 Hurricanes

2017 Crusaders

2018 Crusaders

2020 No Winner [cancelled due to pandemic]

Super Rugby Aotearoa (NZ)
2020 Crusaders
2021 Crusaders

Super Rugby AU (Australia)
2020 Brumbies
2021 Queensland Reds

Super Rugby Unbroken (RSA)
2020 Bulls 

Super Rugby Trans-Tasman 
2021 Blues

Super Rugby Pacific
2022 Crusaders

Latest News