ACT Brumbies unveil extended 2023 Super W training squad

ACT Brumbies unveil extended 2023 Super W training squad

The ACT Brumbies are excited to unveil the club’s wider Super W training squad ahead of the 2023 season.

Brumby #64 Scott Fava’s first group as head coach features 20 capped Brumbies players, with the remainder of the 51-player squad being made up of up-and-coming talent from the ACT and capital region, as well as players from interstate and overseas. 

The squad includes seven capped internationals: current Wallaroos Grace Kemp, Tania Naden, Siokapesi Palu and Jemima McCalman, Fijiana prop Iris Verebalavu and former Australian test stars Sarah Riordan and Rebecca Smyth, Smyth having also captained the Brumbies in 2022.

The club’s longest standing player, prop Louise Burrows was not included in the extended group, but will continue her legendary ACT rugby career in club rugby.

ACT Brumbies Super W head coach, Scott Fava said: “It’s great to be in a position to select a wider training group pre-Christmas that will form our 2023 squad heading into the new year.”

“We’ve approached this stage of selection with an eye to the future and we believe with a targeted rugby and physical development focus, we can lay some important building blocks for the future for the club’s Super W program.

“This club has always been a place for people who want an opportunity to come to work hard, improve and reach the next level and developing Wallaroos for 2025 will be at the centre of everything we do moving forward.

“That focus means a player and person of the calibre of Cookie Burrows misses out, but we know she’s going to keep contributing to the game in the ACT and hopefully here at the Brumbies, helping to promote the pathway for young players to reach the highest level.”
Kieran Berry – Burraneer Rays
Lilly Bone – Central West
Harriet Elleman – Wagga Ag. College
Monica Fasavalu-Faamausili – Western Sydney Two Blues
Ash Fernandez – Canberra Royals
Sally Fuesina – Western Sydney Two Blues
Jess Grant – Uni-Norths Owls
Amy Hart – Wagga City
Ella Hooper – Uni-Norths Owls
Lydia Kavoa – Queanbeyan Whites
Grace Kemp – Canberra Royals
Brittany Leauanae – Gordon
Maggie Maconochie – Hunter Wildfires
Erika Maslen – Tamworth
Ivy Merlehan – CSU Reddies
Monique Moa’le – Gordon
Edwina Munns-Cook – Sydney University
Tania Naden – Uni-Norths Owls
Kathryn Niki – Tuggeranong Vikings
Peark Rakete – Tuggeranong Vikings
Rebecca Smyth – Narromine Gorillas
Emily Sogal – Tuggeranong Vikings
Alyse Soloase – Western Sydney Two Blues
Alexander Sulusi – Gordon
Tabua Tuinakauvadra – Tuggeranong Vikings
Fapiola Uoifalelahi – Griffith
Iris Verebalavu – Uni-Norths Owls
Zali Waihape-Andrews – Tuggeranong Vikings

Krystal Blackwell – Goulburn Dirty Reds
Danielle Buttsworth – Hunter Wildfires
Biola Dawa – CSU Reddies
Siena Edwards – Auckland
Chioma Enyi – Uni-Norths Owls
Martha Fua – Sydney University
Brooke Gilroy – Canberra Royals
Apryll Green – Wagga City
Teliya Hetaraka – Tuggeranong Vikings
Jay Huriwai – Western Sydney Two Blues
Akira Kelly – Gordon
Amealia Lolotonga – Griffith
Jemima McCalman – Sydney University
Faitala Moleka – Sydney University
Siokapesi Palu - Uni-Norths Owls
Gabrielle Petersen – Tuggeranong Vikings
Sarah Riordan – Australian Defence Force
Chloe Saunders – Burraneer Rays
Kayla Sauvou – Western Sydney Two Blues
Georgina Tuipulotu – Sydney University
Sarah Tuipulotu – Sydney University
Gisela Vea – Tuggeranong Vikings
Sammie Wood – Queanbeyan Whites

Latest News